Delivered and Delivered!

Yes! They are delivered to the school bus for a day of work and fun at school, and I am delivered for eight hours to do my work!

          4 grandchildren DELIVERED to the bus-driver to be taken to school

          1 grandmother DELIVERED to enjoy peace and quiet for 8 hours

I don’t mean to say I want to get rid of them. No, but I need some peace and quiet. There is a reason why God made us parents when we were young. Although I know many grandparents have to step up and raise their grandchildren.

Yesterday we had our “first” incident. For those who haven’t been following my blog in the last few days, I’m kid-sitting! The parents are off on their own adventures and I am taking care of four very energetic children. Two of them forgot their back-packs in the car yesterday morning so I had to make a drive to school to deliver them. See! I’m not only delivered but I am a deliverer! If it hadn’t been that Brianna needed her lunch I would have let them be without their back-packs. Due to food allergies Brianna has to take her own food to school.

They had family night at school. The kids stayed for an after-school program and then I went there at five pm for extra activities. There was going to be a bit of walking so I took my wheel chair. The kids were very excited to have their grandma join them and, of course, they had to fight a little bit about who was going to push the chair. I don’t consider my state of health anything to be proud of, but my David-boy sure did. He was shouting left and right, “She’s handicapped!”

I’m not handicapped. I just have some challenges with my feet, but David sure seemed proud of that! We went to the book fair, played some fun math games, I got situated with my feet put up on a chair to wait for the children to read some books and take tests… then David had a little accident (those things that can happen to any of us), so we had to leave and head for home.

“Accidents” are sure to happen if the parents aren’t around! At five this morning the youngest one delivered me the news of an “accident” she had during the night. Think “number 2” and that’s what it was all about. She is still small enough so I could set her down in a sink full of warm water and work on fixing the “accident.” Do I need to say more?

Each one decided they wanted to take a lunch box to school, so we got busy fixing sandwiches. There are quite a few things that have to be done in the morning. David was awake early, screaming, “Miss Lundquist! Come wake me up!” He was awake, of course, but he wanted me to pull the cover off, so I did. His twin sister Lana was up early carrying around the cat. The kids just love their cat, the one the dad found in the woods. So there was just one more to get out of bed, and she was tired and didn’t want to get up. Lana had not done her homework, so she got situated at the kitchen table to work on that!

There is dressing to get done (not the one you put on a salad!). The weather at this point is chilly in the morning but it warms up during the day, so they like to put shorts on and short-sleeved shirts. We got the clothes picked out and put on. Then the beds have to be made. Medicines have to be taken. Hair has to be fixed. Teeth have to be brushed. Today all of them had breakfast at home; if not, they can have it at school. Prayers have to be said, but we did that in the van waiting for the school bus.

Do you wonder why I thought delivered and delivered? I love those kids, but the two-and-a-half hours morning activity was about all I could take. Now comes my job done in the quiet house, with only birds singing for me. We live by the woods, so there are lots of birds! I’ll be translating some articles until three o’clock. Then I’m going to make Swedish meatballs and Italian spaghetti. How does that sound? I’ll follow my daughter’s advise of cooking before I go get the children at school. They are staying for the after-school program to deliver me for two more hours.

I know what they want to do tonight. They want a sleep-over! That means we put mattresses on the floor and all of us sleep together. Doesn’t that sound fun? That’s for us to find out tonight!

Forgive me for being so wrapped up in my grandchildren. They are my BFF’s! The little one, Sarah, told me today that she wants to be my BFF (Best Friends Forever) and we started counting how many I have. Yesterday was tricky because Brianna started working on me so that I would say that she was my most important BFF. Who was the first on, she asked? Well, she was! She was just three years old when we made the “pact”! I had to make her understand that I can’t favor one above the other. Each one of them are my BFF’s!

Even from your Best Friends Forever you can want to be delivered for a few hours!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My grandchildren. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

