God’s Phone Number

I don’t know about you, but for the longest time I’ve known God’s phone number: 5522.

Psalm 55:22

Cast your cares on the LORD
and he will sustain you;
he will never let the righteous fall.

I used this number whenever I was teaching children about trusting the Lord, casting their cares on him. But I never took the time to study in depth the context. Not until today!

The Psalm is written by David, in a time of great distress. He could have written it when he had the problems with his son Absalom; it could have been when he was running from King Saul, who constantly persecuted him.

Let’s take a look at the feelings that had overtaken David:

  • My thoughts trouble me
  • I am distraught
  • My heart is in anguish within me
  • The terrors of death assail me
  • Fear and trembling have beset me
  • Horror has overwhelmed me.

When I went through distress, I wanted to hide in a cave. David also wanted to flee. He said,

“Oh, that I had the wings of a dove!
I would fly away and be at rest —
I would flee far away
and stay in the desert;
I would hurry to my place of shelter,
far from the tempest and storm.”

If it had been an enemy who were insulting him, David could have endure it; but it was his companion, his close friend, with whom he once enjoyed sweet fellowship. (See Ps 55:12-14.)

Some similar sadness has invaded my heart. I have had disagreements with two of my friends. That hurts! But that’s life! If nothing like that happened we would be perfect, and only God is perfect. We will be disappointed, and we will disappoint someone. It’s inevitable; we’re human.

Verses 20 & 21 give us more insight into David’s great disappointment:

My companion attacks his friends;
he violates his covenant.
His speech is smooth as butter,
yet war is in his heart;
his words are more soothing than oil,
yet they are drawn swords.

What is he to do? That’s when the phone number comes in. And that is what anyone of us, you and I, have to do. Call the heavenly number! Call 5522! You will never get a busy signal. There will be no answering machine. You will not be put on hold. God is there to comfort and help you. You can cry out your despair to him.

This is an interesting scenario. You and a friend are in disagreement; both feel violated. Both call 5522! Both get your comfort from God. The Lord can sort things out. He knows who’s right and who’s wrong. Maybe none of you are wrong; it’s just differences of opinion. God will help you find a common ground so that the friendship can survive. That is a situation I’m struggling with at the moment.

How often did David call 5522?

Evening, morning and noon I cry out in distress,
and he hears my voice.

Praise the Lord that we can call Him anytime of the day, as many times as we want, and his ear is always attentive. The solution might take some time to work out. Your sky can stay cloudy for a while, but behind those clouds the sun is shining. There is a better day coming. “As for me,” said David, “I trust in you.”

I will cast my cares on the Lord
and he will sustain me.

CarinaTele

This is my girl, the mother of my dear grandchildren.
Might she be calling 5522?

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Bible and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to God’s Phone Number

  1. Wings of a dove, nice thought for today. Thanks

  2. Héctor says:

    Dios Bendiga a los niños donde quiera que estén.

Leave a Reply

