God’s Cell Phone

I was mixed up yesterday, about what I called God’s phone number, but I’m sure the Lord wanted the word I wrote to be expressed. I realized my mistake when my Dad’s wife and I were talking after our prayer time. So today, I’ll give you God’s cell phone number. That is the number I have used since I was a young missionary.

CELULAR

Psalm 50:15

Call upon me in the day of trouble;
I will deliver you, and you will honor me.

As we often do, we pick certain part of the Word that fits us, and totally forget the context. There is a preceding part to this 5015 number:

       Sacrifice thank offerings to God
       Fulfill your vows to the Most High

THEN call on the Lord in the day of trouble.

Many of our troubles have to do with provision for our needs. Jesus reminded us that our Father knows our needs, and as he cares for the birds, he cares for us. One interesting information in our Psalm of the Day—Psalm 50— is that Gods knows every bird (verse 11). If God known every bird, of course he knows you!

Every animal of the forest belongs to God, and the cattle on a thousand hills. The whole world and all that is in it is God’s (verses 10-12). Sometimes we act selfishly, and like a spoiled child, we proclaim, “Mine! Mine!” We are just stewards of God’s resources.

The story this week was written years ago by Sonia, a Sunday school teacher and one of my co-workers in the publishing house El Evangelista that I had the privilege to direct. My friend Cristina, in Peru, has done such a cute picture to go with it. It’s about the animals waking up to Spring!

LLEGO LA PRIMAVERA

God put man in charge of his world. In the beginning, Adam had the privilege of naming all the animals. Why is an elephant named an elephant? Why are ducks named ducks and rabbits named rabbits? Because Adam decided so! We have some say, but it’s God’s world; he made it.

When you dial 5015, remember to first offer thanksgiving. Thanksgiving prepares the way for miracles (Psalm 50:23). I want to write about that, but maybe tomorrow.

When Nehemiah dedicated the walls he had rebuilt in Jerusalem, he assigned two large choirs to give thanks! (Neh 12:31). And everybody was present, even women and children (see verse 43)! All of us, big and small, need to dial 5015, but with thanksgiving in our hearts! Let’s make Psalm 34:1 our affirmation of the day:

God’s praises will always be on my lips.

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Bible, Gratitude and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

