The Persistent Dandelion

My back yard is covered by dandelions. A few years ago I was able to pull them out and do my best to keep the yard as free of them as possible. Nowadays it’s not possible for me, so these beautiful yellow flowers, considered weeds, are taking over.

amargon

According to D. Christophers’s Herbal Legacy, “There are so many uses claimed for the plant that it takes place among the herbal cure-alls. Its most frequent use, however, is a herb to heal the liver. In Europe, many scientific experiments have been undertaken which prove the traditional belief that the herb truly does cure hepatic ailments.”

Today Mary (my Dad’s wife) and I discussed this little persistent flower.  In fact, she was the one who came up with the description of “persistent.” Let’s say you have your grass mowed. The lawn looks like a pristine green, o so beautiful. You barely turn your head and those little persistent dandelions shoot up again. If you’re battling them, the fight starts anew.

I’ve given up! I’m just going to enjoy them. I can see them through my window as I’m writing, that is, if I remove the snowmen. They need to go! I’ve had a bunch of them on the window sill to help keep some of the cold out. Since winter is gone, they need to go back in their box.

What’s so great that these little dandelions merit a blog? They can teach us a lesson! Be persistent! Be tenacious! Don’t give up!

Have you ever tried pulling dandelions out of the ground? There are special tools to push deep into the soil to try to get the roots out. I’ve done that over and over. It is hard work. Those little flowers can sure teach us persistence.

The Apostle Paul wrote about being “rooted and established in love” and about being “rooted and built up in Jesus.” If we let out roots grow deep into God’s love, Satan can try his best to destroy us, and for a second it might look like he has succeeded, but we will show up again with the true color of God’s love, brightening our surroundings, just like the little dandelions do.

I’ve never tried it, but I know you can made dandelion soup. Just look it up on Google and find recipes. You can make tea. You can use it for all kinds of healing properties.

Isn’t is funny how we can have our back yard full of good, nutritious herbs, and call them weeds just because they multiply and “ruin” our green lawns?

Let’s be persistent in spreading love and cheer just like those little flowers are bringing joy to my heart. Yellow is one of my favorite colors. The sun is shining on little yellow “dots” all over my lawn. I can either get irritated or I can enjoy them. I’ll enjoy them while they last. A few more weeks and most of them will be hiding in the ground, the roots digging even deeper.

Next year, they’ll pop up again!

Ephesians 3:14-21, NIV

For this reason I kneel before the Father, 15 from whom his whole family in heaven and on earth derives its name. 16 I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being, 17 so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith. And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, 18 may have power, together with all the saints, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, 19 and to know this love that surpasses knowledge-that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God. 20 Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, 21 to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.

Colossians 2:6-7, NIV

So then, just as you received Christ Jesus as Lord, continue to live in him, 7 rooted and built up in him, strengthened in the faith as you were taught, and overflowing with thankfulness.

I will be persistent like a dandelion,
rooted and built up Jesus!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Encouragement and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

