The Shepherd’s Psalm

Psalm 23 is known as the Shepherd Psalm. It was written thousands of years ago by a shepherd of Bethlehem. He learned valuable lessons in shepherding while tending to the sheep of his father, Jesse, lessons that would serve him well when he had to shepherd the people of Israel. For forty years he was their king. I’m referring to David, the sweet psalmist of Israel.

Since childhood I became accustomed to repeat “The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want” every time we asked the blessing for the food. It became part of a routine, and was often repeated not thinking very much about the meaning, but that trust in the Lord as my Shepherd has followed me all my life. “I shall not want” … neither good nor evil, because we all get our share, but in all circumstances, the Lord is my Shepherd!

This week’s story is about a boy who learned the meaning of these words: “The Lord is my shepherd.” You can read it under Stories for Children at:

www.MX1414.wordpress.com

The boy learned the words using his fingers, which is not a bad idea. One finger for each word, repeating it over and over. That stays with you! THE LORD IS MY SHEPHERD!

Here is a direct link, maybe you have some child to read the story to:

Lost in the Big City

The Lord is my shepherd.
The Almighty God, Creator of heaven and earth, the Lord of the universe, THE LORD is my shepherd.

The Lord is my shepherd.
He IS my shepherd, present tense (not only was not only will be, but it he is). Now, today, at this moment, Lord IS my shepherd.

The Lord is my shepherd.
My Shepherd, as if we were the only two in the universe. The Lord is My Shepherd. I am the apple of God’s eye, I am His treasured possession. He is MY shepherd. (Every person who takes to heart this truth can feel the same way.)

Lord is my shepherd:
The Lord cares for me. The Good Shepherd, who gave His life for the sheep, is my SHEPHERD.

This is a wonderful Psalm. There is so much comfort and joy in it. I’ve made a list of twelve special blessings or promises.

12 promises in Psalm 23

The Lord is my shepherd
1. Provision… I shall not be in want
2. Rest… He makes me lie down in green pastures
3. Refreshment… He leads me beside quiet waters
4. Healing… He restores my soul
5. Guidance… He guides me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake
6. Protection… Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death I fear no evil
7. Faithfulness… You are with me
8. Encouragement… Your rod and your staff they comfort me
9. Hope… You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies
10. Abundance… You anoint my head with oil, my cup overflows
11. Blessing… Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life
12. Eternal life… I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever

Let the Good Shepherd speak to your heart, let these wonderful truths be as gentle ointments in your soul. What a glorious truth, that the Master of the universe wants to be MY Shepherd!

David, the sweet psalmist of Israel, must have gone back to this psalm over and over. If we read his psalms and the accounts in the Books of Samuel, we see that he had some tough times. This was his confidence:

Psalm 56:3-4
When I am afraid, I will trust in you.
In God, whose word I praise,
in God I trust; I will not be afraid.
What can mortal man do to me?

From his boyhood years as the tender of his father’s sheep until he was old, he had never seen the righteous forsaken (see Psalm 37:25). From the days of my childhood until now, at retirement age, the Lord has never forsaken me. And he never will.

I will trust the Lord as my
Shepherd forever!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in God and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

