Stay to Play

These last few days have been a celebration of my youngest grandchild. Good things always come to a end. After having a Mother’s Day dinner (at lunch-time) I had to pack up my things and go home. The children were disappointed because they wanted me to stay.

“Why can’t you stay to play?” asked Sarah. There were no words to explain to her why I had to go. A while before she had told me that now she can come live with me, because she is out of school. If I didn’t have my trip to Peru I would have taken her to live with me! (Her parents might not have given permission for that!)

David has his own way of expressing things. To say good-bye this time, he gave me 20 kisses. No boy or even my late husband has given me so many kisses at the same time. He counted them! To get this from a 9-year-old boy is very special!

The kid’s dad had to travel because of work early this morning. After a six-hour drive he would pass the town where his mother lives. The girls and I prayed that he would reach there on time for church to surprise her and I’m sure he prayed much more than us. We got the good news that he did surprise his mother. That must have been a very happy day for her. Not everyone gets to spend the day with their oldest child. I haven’t done that for more than ten years and I’ll never get to do it again. But we’ll meet in heaven and celebrate for eternity. My mother is also gone. I lost my mother and my daughter the same year. But there is the hope of a reunion. What a privilege to know the Lord and to have the hope of glory.

Now I enjoy my youngest daughter and her family. I also have a daughter adopted by love. She’s a Peruvian girl that lives in Colorado. “Girl” might not be the right word to call a 37-year-old mother of two. In my heart she’s “my girl.” Today she called me on perfect timing. I had stopped to buy gas and was getting back into the car to drive on when the phone rang. I had forgot to take it out of my purse so if she had called just a minute later, I would not had heard it. I believe the Lord had a hand in that “timing.” When we follow God, all our steps are ordered by him. Even timing for a special phone call!

I couldn’t stay to play with my little Sarah. She’s not so little anymore. I’m amazed how big 5-year-olds are. Here she is, smiling by her presents.

How I wish I could have stayed to play!

Sarah five

A Hello Kitty Birthday Party.

Sarah Bday 2013

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My grandchildren and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

