50,000 Taxis in Lima

Supposedly, according to the last census, there are 50,000 taxis in Lima, Peru. That’s where I am writing this blog! That is only counting the registered taxis. Many others also run taxis. Then there are the buses and the mini-buses for transportation. Most people do not have their own cars. You can just imagine the pollution and the agglomeration of traffic.

Traffic Lima 13 MotoLoadAll

One of the 50,000 taxis, but not David’s

I arrived past midnight. I hate to bother people to come to the airport at that time; but my cousin was kind enough to enlist her private taxi driver to come and get me. I’m Swedish but I have Peruvian cousins! My father re-married after Mom’s death. He fell in love with a Peruvian lady, which suits me perfect. I’m a Swede but I have a Peruvian heart.

About “private” taxi drivers! My cousin, Milene, says that is common. You find someone you can trust and use that person for your travels. This driver’s name is David (another perfect fit, since my favorite boy in all the world is David!). He drove Milene and a friend to the airport, a distance of about 25 kilometer (15 miles), and stayed there to wait until I arrived and cleared customs. Guess what it cost me? Thirty dollars! Really, a bargain.

About customs! They have a system in Peru of pushing a button. If the light turns red, you have to open your suitcases. Green, means go! I was hoping for green, since I had put the keys to my suitcase someplace where my memory would not retrieve it. I would have had to open my carry-on and looked through everything. The key was at the bottom! Next time I need to be more careful where I put it.

The guy who was assisting me with a wheel chair wondered if someone was picking me up. I told him it was my cousin. “How does she look?” he asked. I told her she is beautiful. “You’re right!” was his comment when he saw her. She’s beautiful and she’s kind!

The purpose of my trip is to work with my assistant, Cristina. It’s quite a challenge to have an assistant half way across the world, but with modern technology it’s possible. We spent Friday afternoon getting acquainted. I know her parents well, but I didn’t know her.

Let me tell you how all this came about. She is an artist. A couple of years ago she offered to help me with pictures to illustrate my children’s stories. Her family only had an old computer, so I purchased one for her, with the promise that she would draw pictures for me every week. It’s been going back and forth. Some weeks good, and others, not so good.

In March she called in a desperate situation. She had been fired! I jumped at the chance of hiring her, relying on a free-lance job that I felt was secure. I learned quickly that the only secure source to rely on is God! Of course, I knew that from all the years of trusting Him! That same day I was “fired”! In other words, the well I relied on for work dried up! What to do now? I couldn’t go back on my word!

There might be 50,000 taxis in Lima. There might be 50,000 sources needing artwork done. There might be 50,000 companies needing translators. You can still stand without a taxi and without a job! The only true source for all our needs is God. He saw my predicament. The very next week he provided me with a translation job that I signed a contract on for three years.

God is a God of miracles. He is my Father. He is the Source for all my needs. He is my Defender. He is my Everything! Now I have met Cristina and I asked her if she was set on working with me. She is an interior designer. She was never really happy with the jobs she’s had.

Ecclesiastes 2:24-25
A man can do nothing better than to eat and drink and find satisfaction in his work. This too, I see, is from the hand of God, for without him, who can eat or find enjoyment?

Cristina has now found satisfaction in her work. She likes working for me, of all things! She loves arts and crafts. She will be drawing pictures for stories and doing instructions for crafts that will help teachers. Isn’t it amazing how we were both “fired” the same week and then brought together by the Lord to do his work? Sometimes to be fired is the best thing that can happen, so you can start new and fresh!

This coming week we are going to be working hard on setting up a program to do our work. Aren’t the Lord’s ways amazing?

As wonderful as it might be to have a “private” taxi-driver in Lima, nothing compares to the private access to the Throne of God. Every person in the universe can have a one-on-one relationship with God. At any moment you can come to Him and feel that there is no one else but you getting his attention. I need not worry. I have to admit that I was concerned about my cousin coming out to the airport in the middle of the night all by herself. I didn’t feel it was safe. Now I know how it works. Among the 50,000 taxi drivers in Lima, she has her private service, a man named David that she can trust. Now I also have his number and will consider him my private driver!

If you have your mind set on visiting Lima, I’ll give you his number!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Lima 2013 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

