30 Happy Years

I feel honored. Yesterday my assistant Cristina’s parents—Marco and Maria—celebrated their 30th Anniversary with me. They came after work and brought a home-make apple pie with them. We had a delightful evening reminiscing.

Marco, Cristina’s dad, has very fond memories of my parents, especially my dad. They have done carpentry work together, they have held camps for children, he has observed my dad in the ministry. His latest memory is from ten years ago when they worked in one of the shanty towns of Lima building benches for a church. For Marco to share meals and sleeping quarter with Dad was a treat.

What impressed me the most is what Marco wished in his youth. We brought them the Gospel. Marco was from an alcoholic home and was himself already and alcoholic when he found the Lord. When he saw my parents and their home-life he wished for himself a marriage and a home as theirs. God granted him that wish. Cristina told me they have been an example through the years for young couples and have counseled many couples. You might understand why I feel honored.

Marco and Maria Apple pie

I made a deal with Marco and Maria. For the reunion I’m planning on Saturday, they will fix all the refreshments for me so I don’t have to worry about that. I’ll just show up with a smiley face and a PowerPoint with lots of pictures. For my Peruvian friends away from “home” I’ll make you nostalgic. We’re having “Papa a la huancaina” with “maracuyá” juice to drink. More about this on Saturday!

I had a web designer visit me. I’m looking to set up a web site for Royal Palm World Mission. He gave me a quote and I’m going to get another quote tomorrow. While the young man was visiting he set me up with a page on Facebook for Royal Palm. The more exposure, the better.

Winter has come to Lima! It’s raining! It’s chilly! There is no heat in the houses. I only brought summer clothing. When the sun doesn’t come out in Lima, it’s dreary. I wonder if I’ll have any surprises today?

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Lima 2013 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

