Hope for the Future

One of my faithful partners in ministry is Nancy. I’ll have to introduce her formally on a later occasion. She writes devotionals. As I sat down (Why did I say that? I’ve been sitting all day!) after a hard days work, I received her email about hope. I like the descriptions.

Hope is defined as “a belief in a positive outcome related to events and circumstances in one’s life.”

  • Hope is the silver lining in every cloud.
  • Hope is the rainbow after the storm.
  • Hope is the sun shining in the midst of a summer shower.
  • Hope is a bridge over troubled waters.
  • Hope is a stream in the in the desert.
  • Hope is a way in the wilderness.

I have hope for the future. If I didn’t have hope I would not have made this trip. I’m training a designer to work with me. I’m teaching her my tricks and she’s teaching me hers. We’ve set up a blog called CAJA DE IDEAS, which means and idea box. Both of us got our heads full of ideas and we’re going to share them with teachers.

Cristina

Cristina, my assistant

I wrote before about her uncle. Last evening he visited me and we talked for hours. Every time I see him he is full of thanks because we brought him the Gospel. When he was a kid, I’d look at him and see hope for the future. I loved that boy like a son! He was my artist for the Sunday school take-home paper, just like his niece is now. Isn’t it amazing?

Kerstin adn Cesar

My dear friend Cesar and I

“Faith is the confidence that what we hope for will actually happen; it gives us assurance about things we cannot see.” (Hebrews 1:11)

Sometimes “hope” can be a little misplaced. We usually say that if something sounds too good to be true, it probably isn’t. My friend Mayu told me about a web-site designer and she quoted a price I thought sounded too good to be true. It wasn’t true! He visited me today. If I say I needed to add a zero to the price you get the picture.

I have hope for the future. For Cristina to work with me and use her talents in ministry for the Kingdom is a dream come true. For me to find someone to help me with art and ideas like she has is a dream and lots of prayers come true.

Do you have hope for the future? Whatever your need is, trust the Lord. I’m a living testimony of God’s mercy and grace. There is hope! There is a silver lining in every cloud.

Guess what my most mundane hope is right now? That I will “survive” the cold in Lima. I didn’t bring enough warm clothes. I’m chilled to the bones!

 

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Lima 2013 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

