One is More than None

This trip to Peru has been a confirmation of the importance of ONE! This is the first time since Friday that I’ve had the chance to sit at the computer to write. I’ve busy, busy! And I’ve realized more than ever that even if I’m only one (which we all are; we’re only one!), I’m more than none!

One by one, God has confirmed to me the impact I’ve had on lives. It’s all by his Grace! Some instances I can share; others are private. I’m overwhelmed by the mercy of God. What a privilege to make a difference, and to hear testimonies of that impact.

Today has been Mother’s Day in Sweden. Early this morning I received a phone call. “I’m Lina. I’m looking for Kerstin Anderas.” I guess I was in a joking mood because I pretended to be someone else. The poor lady on the other end of the line got nervous and thought she had the wrong number. I quickly changed tactics, and she could explain who she was—the biological mother of a little boy that I helped arrange to have adoptive parents. She had seen the notice on Facebook about the reunion I organized (a story for another day). Just in case, I had added a phone number. That was the key!

If my stomach hadn’t acted up, I would have been on my way to church. Even a discomfort had a purpose! Lina and her son came right over. That was some kind of reunion! We hadn’t met in 32 years! The son I had never met!

In 1981 a very good Swedish friend of mine, Eva-Lena, asked me to help her and her husband adopt a baby. My mother had helped quite a few couples do just that, but she was in Sweden and I was in Peru. I wasn’t very much up to getting into all the procedures, but God confirmed to me that I should do it. The whole story is so long it could be a book. At least it will be a long chapter in my Memoirs.

A lady I had met in my prison ministry, who by that time had been released from prison, recommended me to the pregnant girl, who had been abandoned by her husband and already had a little boy. It was impossible for her to get work and then take care of the boy. It wasn’t easy for her to part from her baby but she did it with the child’s best interest in mind. Our entire family got involved in the process to arrange everything. My daughter Carina, nine at the time, took care of the boy once he was born. She’s always been a little “mother.” As I mentioned, the story is too long for a blog, but it all came back to me today as in a movie.

To meet that mother today, together with her son, and to go on Facebook and find her long “lost” son is something words cannot describe. We found him, but couldn’t see his information, although we added a friend’s request. It’s Christoffer I’m talking about. Hopefully these boys, now men, are able to connect.

Lina och Cesar

Christoffer’s brother Cesar and his mother Lina

So many interesting things have happened to me the last few days I’m totally amazed! I shouldn’t be, because when God orchestrates something it’s always amazing. I’ll be writing about a few of those marvels in the next few days, others are not to be published. God spoke to me clearly that I should make this trip, and it’s been worth every penny of the ticket price.

Tomorrow starts the three days Cristina and I have left to get down to business and plan the year ahead. Hopefully I can come back in a year so we can plan some more! We have so many ideas it might take us a lifetime to fulfill; at least what’s left of my life!

This evening my cousin helped me record a short video. I published it through Facebook and I hope it works for you to listen to it. Just a short greeting but done with lots of love.

Video greeting.

May you have a splendid week!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Lima 2013 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

