A Visit to the Supermarket

My friend Luis Bartra, who graciously offered me hospitality while I was in Lima, took me to the supermarket. I should have gone at the beginning of my visit, to enjoy more of the goodies. But I bought a few things to take home. I moved around with my camera while Luis did his shopping. Here is an interesting feature. People leave their carts in one of the aisles and run back and forth choosing products and adding them to their carts. I had a hard time understanding the purpose.

carts

IMG_6089

I don’t think this cart belonged to someone buying onions, although it was in the middle of an aisle. I could think of quite a few uses for those beautiful onions, but they would not have let me through customs with them!

Metro Lima

Yellow and green were the colors of the METRO we visited. And all the employees had uniforms in those colors. The cashier gave me a beautiful smile when she saw I was taking a picture.

cashier

Frutas Lima

Vegetables yellow

What did I do about water? I used up a whole big box of it! Yes, they now sell water in boxes of 20 liters. That’s what I consumed during my 2-week stay in Lima. I love the name, “cielo” water. I had my Minute-Maid bottle that I filled over and over again. It tasted heavenly!

water

Some of the goodies that I did take home. I’ll be sharing them with friends.

Peru goddies

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Lima 2013 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

