I Love Peru

I think I have mentioned the I usually say to people who I’m Swedish by birth, American by choice, and Peruvian by love. This is really the first time I’ve put it this way. What I say is that I’m Swedish, with an American passport, but a Peruvian heart.. I suppose you get the picture!

I love PeruOne thing I observed and commented on is the big changes for the better I saw. For one thing there was not as much pollution, which probably is due to the use of natural gas as fuel.

Peru is still changingI’m proud of the picture at the top left, because I took it through a dirty windshield while waiting at a red light. We’re still changing is what it reads—Seguimos cambiando. Tall buildings by the dozens are spread throughout Lima.

Something, rather “someone,” that has not changed, other than gotten some gray hairs and wrinkles. just like myself, is my friend Paco. He was very good friends with my husband. When our daughter Eva-Marie was a little girl she loved to talk, just as Paco, so when he visited us they would have to ask for permission to speak so each one of them got a chance (Pido la palabra). When we lived in Sweden a few years he used to send us “epistles” with news from Peru. Here he is happily holding my parent’s book A Life of Adventure. Paco helped me at the airport to get a chair and to wheel me around. Friends are such an awesome gift from God!

IMG_6156

At AirportTop: Carolina and her daughter, Cristina’s Princess niece, Alejandra. I told Cristina her beautiful nice needs to be tha “star” of the Idea Box blog we have started. She will compete with my little Princess granddaughter Sarah.

Middle:  Cristina and her uncle Cesar, both artists serving my Spanish publications. On the right: Cristina’s parents Marco and Maria.

Bottom:  A “regul” call. They need an editor! And on the right my dear friends that saw me off at the airport in the middle of the night!

Two intense weeks. I’d get up about weight in the morning and keep going strong until midnight. My purpose was to get to know my new assistant, and I can truly say, mission accomplished! When I asked her to work with me  I wasn’t thinking about all the detail to take into account, but er hammered through each one of them.

These are some interesting detail:

  • We decided on a monthly salary.
  • In Peru you get one month vacation every year.
  • On Independence day you get and extra half salary.
  • On Christmas you get another extra half salary.
  • Then there is the health insurance and retirement fund to think about.
  • We also wrote down all the Peruvian vacation days.

Milene’s dad supplied me with a sample for a contract and I adapted it to the work we will be doing. On the last day we signed the contract. If it wasn’t for the Internet we couldn’t do this. Now we are just going to work away and supply teaching materials and lots of ideas for teachers. I love it!

Contract

If you would like to see the Idea Box—CAJA DE IDEAS– go to

http://cajaideas.wordpress.com

All the ideas are also going to be published in English.

This was supposed to be my last blog from the trip. I was going to save it as a draft and pushed the wrong button. There will be two more blogs.

I’m home, I’m safe, I’m ready to tackle a new week. God bless us all to serve Him with all our love and strength! Have a great week!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Lima 2013 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

