Kiyita’s Residence

You know how it is with little dogs, big ones too for that matter. They take control! It’s not that they have the privilege of living with their master. They make themselves the master. Kiyita is no exception!

Meet Kiyita!

Milenes love

Kiyita is Milene’s great love. Milene rescued her from a life on the streets of Lima and now Kiyita has made herself at home and thinks she’s the boss. She gave me the kind of “loud” welcome very typical of little dogs. I guess they make up for lack of size with a loud bark.

Kiyita not only gave me the loud bark to make sure I knew who’s the boss. She left a “business card” right by the bed where I was going to sleep! Milene quickly fixed that with a hefty spray of disinfectant. But as the days went by she got use to having me around and the bark got quieter.

Now, let me show you some pictures from the condominium where Kiyita resides.

Las Pecanas LimaLike all the residences in Lima and Peru in general, you have locked gates. This one is monitored by intercom and there is a “wachiman” (watchman) outside watching the comings and goings and making sure no suspicious activity takes place. Lots of words are Spanglish. The first time I heard this word I couldn’t place it in the Spanish and then it dawned on me that it was a watchman.

Kiyita lives on the third floor, with no elevator. It was a little difficult for me to walk up the flight of stairs, but I made it. It’s easier every time I visit, which means I’m slowly but surely getting better in my feet. Praise the Lord!

The window on the bottom left is from the room Kiyita graciously let me have. It used to be her room, so no wonder she left her business card! The photo in the center is the view from that window. At the top right I’m standing by the door.

Something very interesting I found in the kitchen were some ceramic canisters that used to be my grandmother’s. When my mother left Peru she had a a big sale of her things and Milene’s mother acquired those.

IMG_5786

The Swedish reads: potato flour, fruit and sugar

I’m glad these heirlooms are in a safe place. Kiyita will not let anything happen to them. And she can’t jump up to them and cause some damage! They’re only things, anyway. Nothing we will take to heaven!

Something that reminds me of my childhood every time I visit this home is a picture just like the one we had in our home.

Cristo es supremo

Christ is Supreme in this home.
The invisible Guest at out table.
The silent Listener to our conversation.

Even if Kiyita wasn’t too happy to share her room with me, there was a warm welcome from Milene, Kiyita’s “mom,” and from Luis, Milene’s father. I missed Edita, Milene’s mother, who used to welcome me with such open arms. It’s almost four years since she went to be with the Lord. Some of you also have fond memories of her.

IMG_6109

Gladys, the housekeeper, cooked for us. She was sick the last day I was there so I never got to take a picture of her. What did we do when we had no cook? Ordered from Pizza Hut!

Pizza HutPizza Hut, McDonald’s, Burger King, Domino’s Pizza, Dunkin Donuts, TGI Friday’s are a few of the American franchises I saw. I’m sure there is more. Peru is totally different from when I left in 1984. Thirty years do make a difference!

Wrapping up all my impressions from these two weeks of intense ministry activity in Peru, I’ll have to say the most awesome encounter was with Jeanet. That I had the privilege to plant the seed of God’s love in her heart and that it is bearing fruit makes it all worth it. For 40 years we had this picture hanging on our walls, many different ones, always wondering what had happened to Jeanet. Now I know. She gave me one of the biggest bear-hugs I’ve ever received.

Jungle art

I will continue planting seeds of God’s love. May you also plant those seeds! If you are a Sunday school teacher, do this labor of love with all your heart. Some day you’ll have the privilege to meet someone, like Jeanet, that shows you that it was all worth it!

Jeanet

Thank for accompanying me to Peru, even if it was just by this blog!

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Lima 2013 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

