My Swedish Heritage

pippi

 

June 6

I’m Swedish by birth and heritage, and today is our National Day. It used to be just the Flag Day but it is now updated. I am a very privileged person. In Peru I baffled the housekeeper at the home that hosted me. She had never heard that somebody could have three nationalities or homelands.

  1.  I am born in Sweden and have a Swedish passport
  2.  I am a citizen of the United States
  3.  I am a citizen of Heaven, the best of the three

I once met a man who had been born three times.

  1. He was taken out of the womb to be operated on
  2. He was born after the regular nine month
  3. He had been born again by the grace of God

It is a privilege to have a Swedish heritage.

Swedish girls

Pippi Longstocking! Have you read the popular stories written by Astrid Lindgren. My girl used to love them. Look for those stories. They are fun!

Sancta Lucia

The Lucia girl is typical for Sweden. For me she has a special meaning since my girl went to Heaven on the Lucia Day, December 13th.

Brita Swedish Costume

My mother is also in Heaven, and I’m awaiting the day we will all meet again. She is wearing the Swedish national costume. I have my grandparents in Heaven, also my mother, my daughter, my parents-in-law, and my husband. The Swedish flag is so special, because it’s got the colors of heaven. And the flag represents Christianity, even though I’m sad to say that many Swedes do not believe in God.

IkeaFlorida

Did you know that IKEA is Swedish? It was started first in the town of Älmhult. In the early days of IKEA we lived in that town for one year. It was one of our fun spots to visit.

slottet09

I could write lots of things about Sweden. It’s a beautiful country, but expensive. I spent the first two years of my life there. Then started my missionary life. I was there at eight years of age, then at sixteen. At twenty-two I found my husband in Sweden, a very typical Swedish guy. After that, I’ve only spent four years in Sweden.

The castle is from my hometown Örebro, painted by my good friend Christina Nilsson. I have another friend in my hometown. I’ve written about her before. She keeps me informed of everything going on, sending me newspaper clippings at least every month.

I’m happy and proud of my heritage and I want my grandchildren to know their Swedish heritage. They like meatballs and lingon berries (similar to cranberries). What could be more Swedish?

This is going to be a great day. I will see my Swedish daughter, born in Peru, naturalized and married to an American.

Long live Sweden!

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

