Good News, Bad News

A common expression that I’ve learned since I came to the States is: “There’s good news, and there’s bad news.” I was surprised when my little five-year old grand-daughter welcomed me with the fact that there were good news, and bad news. It had something to do with her bicycle riding. In her world it was bad news!

We had the Vacation Bible School wrap-up last night. I’m not bias in any was. I love all my grandchildren, but from the place where I was sitting, the only pictures I could get were of this little girl (Sarah).

Sarah VBS 2013

The little harp she made, and she is happily showing off her certificate of attendance. The kids sat in small groups on the floor and each group represented a place the Apostle Paul had visited.

All the children, by groups, went up front to sing and give a cheer. For my grandson David, because of his autism, every situation with changes from his regular schedule is very difficult. This week was a blessing because his VBS teacher was his teacher from last year at school. She knew how to handle him, even the situation last night when he wasn’t going to get up in front of the crowd. He didn’t get up to sing but he stood with his group to give a cheer, a group that had been reduced to himself and his sister Brianna.

I have to make a parenthesis. As I’m writing, this boy comes up the stairs, asking, “Miss Lundquist, do you want some oil?” Oil? What kind of oil is he bringing me? It was a little bottle of water! He looks out for his grandmother, because he knows I need lots of water.

Back to his little sister! I asked her this morning about the good news and the bad news . “There is no bad news, only good news,” she said. I like that.

How is your life coming along? I hope you only have good news to report.

My assistant Cristina was very anxious yesterday. She has been trying to locate one of her best friends but it’s like she has vanished from the planet. No Facebook activity and no cellphone connection. That is catastrophic in a young person’s life these days. We prayed over Skype (what a wonderful invention!) and I did my best to calm her. Today, after her InDesign class, Cristina is going to try to find her friend. I’m hoping to hear good news!

Let’s have one more story from this week. An old man, a faithful servant of the Lord, passed away. In Peru you have to bury the person within 24 hours. During the night they had  a wake. The dead man’s sister was devastated and kept crying, “Why did you leave me? How am I going to go on without you?” She didn’t have to. Right there, at the wake, she had a heart attack. Shortly after, in the emergency room, she died. The family had two deaths within 24 hours. Cristina says it was pathetic to see the widow of the man and the widower of the man’s sister hugging each other, seeking comfort. The good news in the midst of the bad is that this man had a full life in happy service to God. He is now in his eternal home. We’re hoping the same is true for his sister.

More good news? The children are looking forward to spending time with me today. The feeling is mutual. I have several new stories to print and add to Brianna’s binder. That was the first thing she asked me, “Do you have any new stories?”

Life is made up of stories. Everybody has stories to tell. Some don’t tell them. That’s the bad news. Don’t keep your stories for yourself. Share them! You never know when your story will bless someone. That’s the good news.

Have a wonderful day in the Lord!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My grandchildren and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

