The Door is Open Today

It was Sunday and I was excited that my granddaughter Brianna was coming with me to church. I loved the Assemblies of God church in Fort Gibson. The pastors Johan and Pat Ford were so kind and welcoming. They made me feel so much at home.

What a surprise when we arrived and found a closed door. Yes, the door was closed. I told Brianna that they might be on a picnic—that everybody decided to go on an outing. What to do? We went to the church where the kids attend the AWANA program.

I was intrigued all day and wondered about the closed door. As I arrived home today I called pastor Pat. The door wasn’t just closed yesterday. It has been closed several weeks. Hopefully, not closed for good. It sure made an impact on me to find the door closed.

puertaI have a story for you from my collection of stories, one about a closed door. It happened one Monday morning. Charo and her family were seated at the breakfast table, talking and laughing happily. Everybody, except Charo. She was misbehaving and her father ordered her out of the room.

“Get off the chair and go outside for five minutes!” he said in a stern voice.

Embarrassed, and reluctantly, Charo got off the chair. Without looking at her father she left the room and pulled the door shut.

Large tears ran down her cheeks. Standing outside the door the minutes seemed long as hours. How sad she felt!

After three long minutes the door opened. Pancho stuck out his head and said, “Charo, go inside. I’ll be bad in your place.” Lovingly he hugged his sister and gave her a push into the dining room.

Again, the door was closed. Charo stood by the door, looking down and feeling very uncomfortable. She didn’t know if her dad would allow her to return to the table.

“Sit down and finish your breakfast,” her father said gently. “Pancho is taking your punishment.”

Charo realized that she had been forgiven, the same as if she had completed the punishment. But, oh, how she wanted to see Pancho again at the table.

After the five minutes had passed, the father opened the door for Pancho. He embraced both children and pressed them against his chest.

Once again tears started rolling down Charo’s cheeks. Between sobs, she asked her father to forgive her and promised not to misbehave at the breakfast table. Grateful, she hugged her brother. What a great boy Pancho was! He had taken the punishment she deserved.

There is a door open to all!

Jesus is the door. He said, “I am the door.” The Lord Jesus has made a way of salvation for each one of us. He has taken our punishment. He died on the cross to forgive our sins, and when we receive Him, He opens the door to heaven for us. Today the door is open, so anyone who calls on the Lord can be saved. But one day the door will close and it will be too late to repent.

To stand by the closed door of the Fort Gibson Assemblies of God I can handle. But I couldn’t handle to stand by the closed door to Heaven. I have accepted Jesus’ offer of salvation.

Have you walked through the open door of salvation? It is open today!

 

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Salvation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

