The Father who didn’t give up on his Dream

As you might have come to understand by now, my main ministry is to Spanish-speaking children and teachers. God called me as a ten-year-old to work with children in Latin America. Now He has expanded my vision to reach the world, but I cannot lose my main focus—the children I have been working with for fifty years!

It’s only Thursday but I feel like I’ve done more than a week’s job already. My new assistant and I have been busy doing activities for Father’s Day and an illustrated story. To work in different countries is certainly a challenge, but what a blessing it is to have Skype.

I have also been studying and writing about fathers in the Bible. One of them is Caleb. This is the father who didn’t give up on his dream.

Picture Caleb in the prime of his life being chosen to go explore the Promised Land. What a privilege! Among the hundreds of thousands of young men, he was chosen! Together with his friend Joshua they brought back a good report. The other ten explorers saw the negative and gave such a bad report that people were filled with fear.

We can do it

“We can do it!” said Caleb. “We have God on our side!” But the people were so intimidated they talked about stoning Caleb and Joshua for bringing a positive report. The result of the people’s unbelief was a wandering around in the desert for forty years!

I sympathize with Caleb! For forty years he had to walk around n the desert with the dream in his heart. What was his dream? It was a mountain he had seen in Israel. It was a hill country God had promised him when he was exploring the Land.

I’m sure Caleb talked to his children about the dream. I’m sure he described that hill country for them many times. And he held on to the promise! When the Israelites finally conquered Canaan, Caleb reminded Joshua about what God had promised him.

By that time, Caleb was eighty-five years old. He felt just as strong as the day Moses sent them on the exploration mission. What a man! What an example of a father!

Can you picture Caleb turning to his sons, smiling from ear to ear, shouting victoriously, “Let’s do it!” It wasn’t an easy task they had before them. The cities were large and fortified. But just as back in Moses’ day, he believed the same with his leader Joshua, that with God’s help he could do it.

I have a father similar to Caleb. All my life he has been an inspiration to me, but maybe not in my first childhood years when he disciplined me! He’s been a man of faith. My siblings and I consider him our hero.

I wish there were more Caleb-caliber fathers in our day. We need those men with strong dreams and convictions. Read the story in Numbers 13&14 and Joshua 14:6-15.

Are you a father? Be a Caleb kind of man! Follow God wholeheartedly. Believe in him. Don’t let go of your dreams. Bring your children along in conquering new heights!

 

Here’s an idea for a craft for Father’s Day, prepared by Cristina.

Make a tie-bookmark. Print them in color or in black-and-white to color. Write you own message for Dad on the tie. Paste two together to make them sturdier. Cover with clear tape or Contact paper.

Black and white Ties

Color Ties

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Fathers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

