Selling for Free

I picked up my grandchildren David and Brianna Sunday afternoon for a weeks stay. They were beyond excited when they came home with me. David, the Explorer, could not keep his hands and fingers in place but had to explore as soon as he got in the house. He loves to play with my penny collection so that was one of the first things he got his hands on. I collect pennies to remind me that “In God we Trust.”

He found a fun drinking glass with hearts on and asked if he could put my pennies in it. I inspected it, and it seemed like it was some kind of plastic. It wasn’t! So we had a little accident. Pennies and glass in a thousand pieces went flying. Last year it was a side table that went flying in a thousand pieces! What will it be next year? I thought I had “David-proofed” the house.

The weather was perfect to sit outside so that is what we did. After the mishap with the pennies and the heart-glass David had to find something else to occupy himself with. Low and behold he found some small wild strawberries growing on my lawn. How exciting! He went and got a jar to collect some, because he needed to sell them in the village. Springfield is a little more than a village!

If David gets something in his head it stick there. He made up his mind that he was going to go to the neighbors to sell the wild strawberries, “sell them for free”! I tried to explain that they were probably not interested, but that didn’t register with him. Finally, I managed to keep him calm for the evening and wait with the selling for the next day.

Early Monday morning he was set on this selling mission. At seven he was ready to make the rounds. I told him people were getting ready to go to work and would not appreciate a visit. But he would go at eight o’clock, he said. Then I told him to visit my neighbor across the street. She was happy to try the wild strawberries and talk to David. That calmed him down. The rest of the day was been busy with errands, so he saved the rest of the wild strawberries to “sell” to a friend of mine that is coming today to go with us on an outing.

The whole point of the matter is the joy of “selling for free”!

David hiding

David is like most boys his age, I guess. They hate pictures! This was his morning routine before venturing out as a salesman, a very important one—selling for free!

wild strawberries

This is the best I could do in photographing the wild strawberries. They’re called smultron in Swedish.

Here’s something David did to me, that was very funny for him. Remember how I said I lost a day on Saturday? I needed a hair-cut very badly. I called the shop where I usually go and asked about the closing time and was told it was 8:00 pm. I arrives at 6:15 and the shop was closed! So on Monday I had to venture out with David and Brianna to get my hair cut. It turns out that the girl who answered the phone had been as confused as I. She also thought Saturday was Friday!

While I was getting my hair washed David took my camera to take a picture of me, that would embarrass me greatly, he said, especially if I showed it to his mother. Now I’m going to show the picture to the world and embarrass myself completely.

IMG_6518

Do you get this kind of treatment when you get a hair-cut?

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My grandchildren and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

