Visiting Little House

One thing I’m enjoying about Brianna is her appreciation for a beautiful sky. Here she is admiring the sunset together with her Mormor (grandmother on mother’s side in Swedish), although the kids call me Miss Lundquist. David explained today that he calls me “Miss” because I’m not married. It makes me feel young.

Bri and sunset

Have you ever watched Little House on the Prairie or read books written by Laura Ingalls? Today we visited Laura and Almanzo’s house in Mansfield, Missouri. A former co-worker friend went with me to help me with my “chair” and to take the children to see some place with difficult access for me.

Did you know that Laura was 65 years old when she started writing her books, that have become such a popular movie series? I told my friend that she still has her life’s work ahead of her. The same goes for me! Laura wrote all her books by hand and she also answered all her fan mail by hand. She used to get about 50 letters a day!

Little House 2013

The white house at the top is the Ingalls’ house, where Laura wrote all her books. The house at the bottom is the one their daughter build for them for retirement. But they never felt at home there so they moved back to their little house. We had a little picnic under some trees. It’s a wonderful nature around there.

Guess where we had dinner? McDonald’s! They love the Play Place there. I take my computer and work while they are playing. But I’m going to have to be a little more creative or I’ll be having Fish-fillets coming out of my ears!

Here’s something creative. On our way home the kids got so excited about it. “Stop the car! Take a picture!” Brianna is documenting the events this week. She has seen her mother do scrap-booking so much that now she wants to do it. So we had to stop and take a picture of this rare event. We saw a rainbow!

Rainbow

It’s exciting when you get to see a rainbow!

This evening these kids became builders. They started out with a few blocks of wood that I had saved for David and ended up using all the cardboard boxed that I had saved for recycling. They made houses for their pets! The most fun part was that they got to play until it was dark!

I can remember as a kid how fun it was to be outside until it was dark. Even to this day there’s a special feeling  being outside when the sun goes down. Don’t you think?  They told me they had a blast!

Building David Bri

This is the second day of their stay, the third night. We have five more days to go. Brianna wants to do all kinds of adventures. David just wants to stay at home. He told me today he is just like his daddy. He just wants to stay home! But if I say Wal-Mart, he’ll run out the door. He’s hoping I’ll buy him a new Lego toy.

This is my life this week. Devoted totally to my grandchildren. More weeks like this are on the horizon.

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My grandchildren and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Visiting Little House

  1. sarahgeorge says:

    How wonderful it is to spend times like these with loving grand kids!. Thanks for the info on Laura and her writings. Very inspiring! Oh! I just love the rainbow picture. Hope Brianna has a great time scrapbooking:)

  2. kelund says:

    Sarah, you are a namesake with my youngest grandchild. We’ll have adventures with her next week. God bless you!

Leave a Reply

