Excited for Nothing

“Excited for nothing” is what David called our experience on Friday. Some friends invited us to go with them on an outing on the lake in a pontoon boat. We secured permission from the parents, bought sunscreen, a special life-vest for David, and a cooler for our lunch. The kids went to bed early since we would have to be on our way before seven o’clock  in the morning.

I was up at five and fixed our lunch. I was about to wake the kids when the phone rang. It turned out there had been a misunderstanding and the boat they had rented was not big enough for us to fit in with our friend’s party. There went all the excitement down the drain! My friend said I could do something else and she would pay for it.

The kids took it well, but David kept repeating during the day, “Excited for nothing!” What we did in the evening was go to Chilli’s for dinner and then have a double scoop ice-cream at Braum’s. David had to tell whoever we met that “other people are paying for this, because they got us excited for nothing.”

Have you ever been “excited for nothing”? I think we all have those experiences. That was not the only set-back for the children. Due to a job their father had to do, that was on the way to where we would “exchange” children, David and Brianna had to go home one day earlier than planned. On Saturday we met in Joplin and I got another set of children for this week. Lana and Sarah are spending time with me now.

We went to church this morning, the girls dressed in their Sunday-best. They have played and scattered toys and things around the house. If they pick up and straighten up for me I will take them to McDonald’s. I have to prepare myself for several fish-fillets this week, because that’s the only thing I “like” at that place. “Like” is a relative word… I live with it for the kid’s sake. They love to go to the Play Place at McDonald’s!

Brianna was very excited about a scrap-book she did for her parents, documenting the experiences she’s had during the week. David made a chain each for his parents, with beads. The boxes he used to put them in were so big in comparison, like if you would put a doll in a refrigerator box. But that is what he had decided to do, and that’s what he did.

The most painful part of the whole experience was probably when we had to pull apart all the boxes they had so carefully nailed together to make houses for their “pets.” But I promised that next year I would have another set of boxes for them to build with.

IMG_6589

IMG_6590

This was the house for David’s Polly Bear.

IMG_6592

One of Brianna’s creations for her pets.

Can you understand why it was so painful to “destroy” their handiwork? They really put a lot of effort into those houses. It was almost as if they had built the houses “for nothing”! But David is used to building and re-building. I bought him a Ninja Lego. He re-built it at least six times between Thursday and Saturday. One of the times he did it only so I could watch each step, and he made sure that I was watching.

IMG_6628

This is the toy David built and re-built.

While I’ve been writing the girls have picked up their toys, so the next step in our week together is a trip to McDonald’s. I will try to space them out so I don’t have fish coming out of my ears!

I wish you a happy week as I hope to have with the girls. Here’s a picture from our visit to my Ecuadorian friends last night. Sarah was being a little silly sticking her tongue out. She wasn’t being naughty, just having some fun.

IMG_6674

One more thing. David earned 7 dollars for killing flies, but he lost 2 for misbehaving. Brianna thought it was not fair that she only killed 2 flies. Now he sister Lana is my fly-killer. Let’s see how many dollars she can earn!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My grandchildren, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

