Sarah’s Wish

One of my happiest memories from the girl’s visit this summer will be Sarah’s wish for me.

“Mormor (Grandma), I wish I was a boy.”

“Why would you want to be a boy?” I asked.

“So I could marry you! I want you to have a husband!”

At times I wish that, too. It gets lonely living by myself.

Sarah 6-2013

 

It wasn’t lonely the week Sarah and her big sister Lana spent with me. At times it was a little too intense. Now they are back home where they belong and I have to take a deep breath and get back on track with my life. Two weeks with energetic grandchildren can sap one’s energy. Now I have the pictures to go back to and remember.

Lana Sarah 2013

The girl’s special activity this week was to visit Build-A-Bear. It’s a store where the children get to pick a bear and stuff it. Cats and dogs are also on the list. Lana picked a dog and Sarah got a big pink bear. We borrowed a wheel-chair and the girls pushed me in the Mall. It was hard for Sarah because she couldn’t see in front of her. “Mormor, you’re in the way!” she said. She was “feet” for me, and I was “eyes” for her.

Yesterday afternoon we were all packed and ready for the call from their dad to drive to Miami. Oklahoma to meet him. We got a call, but it was not for us to leave, but to stay! There was a power outage at their house, and my son-in-law need to go home and get the problem fixed. Thankfully, the problem got fixed and he could meet us as planned.

It was three-hours drive for me. I came home in time to watch Dateline. One of the stories last night was very interesting, about a man who got a face transplant. It is amazing what the doctors can do these days! Things that years ago where fiction in movies, are now realities.

My assistant Cristina called to ask a question for an activity she is doing. We got to talking, and talking, and talking… Before we knew it, Friday had turned into Saturday! She hadn’t had dinner, so she was going to go out and grab a bite. At midnight? That seemed like normal to her! So I wished her a good eat and then sweet dreams.

ABUELITAGuess what I’m doing with this picture Cristina drew for me? I’m writing a story about a grandmother, who, according to her granddaughter, had magical glasses. She was loving and compassionate, and the girl wanted glasses just like her, so she could be kind like her grandmother.

“It’s not in the glasses,” said her mother. “It’s in the heart! She sees people not through her glasses but trough her heart.”

As the story goes, they had to look all over town, until they finally found some glasses to match the grandmother’s.

How do we see people? Do we just look at them superficially or do we see them “with the heart”?

I wish my grandchildren will remember me as somebody who loved them from the heart. My “mission” is over for this summer, although I have been asked to cat-sit. It will probably be cheaper for me to pay a “sitter” than to drive to Oklahoma. For now, I’m “sitting” in my couch catching my breath. I need to get back to my normal life.

Will Sarah get her wish? I wish she would!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My grandchildren and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sarah’s Wish

  1. Jeanet says:

    Hna. CHE que momentos tan dulces y bellos los que han pasado con las nietas….ya me imagino …son recuerdos inolvidables para ellas y para Ud. , le envio mis saludos y que Dios la siga Bendiciendo.
    Jeanet

Leave a Reply

