Never Give Up

July first! Where have the first six months of the year gone? It seems like just yesterday it was the New Year and now it’s half gone.

I felt a great sadness about my loved ones that are not on the road to Heaven. I continue to pray faithfully for them, hoping they will never find themselves in the situation of the rich man wanting Lazarus to come and dip the tip of his finger in water to cool his tongue. He was tormented in the fire of hell. I prayed that the Lord would send someone to them that they will listen to. The rich man asked Abraham to send Lazarus to his five brothers so they would not end up with him, tormented.

“If they do not listen to Moses and the Prophets [the Bible], they will not be convinced even if someone rises from the dead,” said Abraham. (Read Luke 16:19-31.)

Cristina and I talked about this in our Monday morning communication and she told me about a flower that her mother has. It was a gift from a friend that for some reason is not a friend anymore. We’ve probably all had that sad experience of friendships that have died.

Cristina’s mom does not have a green thumb. The plant died. For some reason she did not feel comfortable to dispose of it. Lately she has been watering some other plants, but not the one from the dead friendship. Low and behold, yesterday she discovered one little green leaf on it! When the other plants got water, a little spilled over on this dead one!

IMG_0801

One little leaf promising there is still life in the “dead” plant

What a beautiful lesson to teach us not to give up. If a friendship is dead, there is hope for a new beginning. When we have friends and loved ones who don’t want to listen to the Gospel, let’s not give up. Even a dead plant can get new life.

Let me give you the Scriptures that inspired me this morning. I will never give up praying for the salvation of my loved ones!

1 John 5:14-15
This is the confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to his will, he hears us. And if we know that he hears us-whatever we ask-we know that we have what we asked of him.

1 Timothy 2:1-4
I urge, then, first of all, that

  • requests,
  • prayers,
  • intercession and
  • thanksgiving

be made for everyone– for kings and all those in authority, that we may live peaceful and quiet lives in all godliness and holiness. This is good, and pleases God our Savior, who wants all men to be saved and to come to a knowledge of the truth.

Praying for our loved ones salvation is for sure a prayer according to God’s will.

Let’s never give up!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

