Three Promises of Life

Remember the dead plant and the broken friendship? There is hope! There is not only one sprout of life, but three!

Plant 2The deeper the root, the greater promise for new life! This is what’s happening at my house. I had a big tree on my property that was old and gave us a big scare when we had the ice-storm in 2007. After my husband passed away I didn’t want to have problems with the tree, so I had it cut down. It was the visible part that was leveled. But there is still life in the root system.

Tree ring

See all the little trees that want to come up? Every time the grass is cut these little plats are leveled to the ground, but they don’t give up. This is how it looked this morning!

The Bible talks about being rooted and established in love. Paul prayed for the church in Ephesus for this very thing.

Ephesians 3:14-21
For this reason I kneel before the Father, from whom his whole family in heaven and on earth derives its name. I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being, so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith. And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power, together with all the saints, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge-that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God. Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.

This is a wonderful Scripture, with the assurance that God can do immeasurably more than all we can ask or imagine. I have a very busy week, so I cannot give myself the luxury of blogging to my heart’s content. But I want to keep track of this plant!

I have asked Cristina to be faithful in watering the dead plant (with living roots) and document the arrival of new life. This will be my project this summer. I think it’s going to be fun to see how life comes back to the dead plant. Hopefully there will be new life in the dead friendship, too.

Colossians 2:6-7
So then, just as you received Christ Jesus as Lord, continue to live in him, rooted and built up in him, strengthened in the faith as you were taught, and overflowing with thankfulness.

Rooted in LOVE and rooted in JESUS, who is LOVE should keep us fresh and green, alive and well in whatever circumstance we may encounter.

The three promises of life in the seemingly dead plant excite me.

Have a wonderful day and a great rest of the week!

 

 

 

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

