Ice in July

Ice in July. Yes, even just looking at the pictures feels good in the sweltering heat of Summer. But it was not fun when it happened. The ice-storm of 2007. But neither was what happened to me Saturday afternoon.

My son-in-law, Thom, was helping me doing some back-up of files. I will spare you the details, but he asked me a question that I should have answered with a “no,” but I said “yes,” and it resulted in the wipe-out of all my pictures going back to 2001! From 2008 was no problem, because I had those on USB-drives. I had CD’s of the pictures from 2001 to 2005. Then there was a gap!

Thom was gracious and went through a retrieving program. Hours and hours of work for the computer program. Then I spent 6 hours sorting through what the program had retrieved. When it comes to computers and back-ups, make sure you check and double-check before erasing something!

The good news! I got to enjoy pictures from years gone by, and among those where the memories of the ice-storm in the winter of 2007. That ice-storm is the reason why I cut down my tree. Now what I have left is a smiley face! Remember how I told about the cut-down tree that is not giving up? Now it’s smiling at you!

green happy faceHere are a few of the pictures we retrieved from the deleted files! These were not files that went to the recycle bin. No, these were file that went away for good. How wonderful that someone has made a program to retrieve those files “lost forever.”

Ice-storm 2007

“My tree” is the one in the middle. The others are trees from neighboring houses. For those of you that are not familiar with ice-storms. It rains and then a big freeze comes, and all that frozen water gets to be so heavy it just breaks down the trees and cuts power lines. Don’t wish an ice-storm even on your worse enemy!

But it sure is beautiful when the sun shines on the ice-cycles!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

