A New Computer

To get a new computer can be exciting, but it can be nerve-wrecking if you have as many things going on as I do. My new computer is not new but re-furbished, but for me it’s new. And the thousands of files I have need to be transferred.

On Saturday my son-in-law came by on his way to pick up the children at their Grandma Kathy’s house where they had spent a week. He helped me transfer files from the old computer to the new one, especially those that have to do with my email accounts. Something did not go right and it’s still a struggle to get it fixed. I’m going to need more patience and more prayer!

My assistant Cristina has some kind of a “bug” so she needs prayer. The weekend was not fun for her. We talked late last night. I inspired her to try out Microsoft Outlook (that has noting to do with the “bug”). When checking one of her accounts that she doesn’t use anymore, guess how many unread messages she had (they were not spam)? More than 17,000! She changed from that account when she started working with me. Do you have unread messages? I could easily reach that number with all the unsolicited mail I get, but I erase them daily. I haven’t thought about how easily messages can add up to the thousands.

Cole kids 7-2013

David, Lana, Brianna (with her doll from Peru), and Sarah

Here they are, my grandchildren, who came by for a short visit on Saturday on their way home. One of these days my David-Boy will know more about computers then I do. He already can beat me in many areas. I wonder how many emails he will leave unread when he gets and account?

I’m doing a deep study of Psalm 119. Years ago I used to skip over it because it’s a long psalm. I’m discovering so many hidden treasures, like in all God’s Word. I want to have the same attitude as the writer:

Psalm 119:20
My soul is consumed with longing
for your laws at all times.

A “new” computer can consume my energy. It should be exciting, but it’s really exhausting. When I get all the details hammered out  I’ll be excited. It’s not only the computer that’s new. You know how all the programs get updated? Every time you have to learn some new features. And some “old” things you liked are not available anymore. Computer, computers… a hazzle and a blessing. But I couldn’t live without them!

For forty years I was fine. What you don’t know you don’t miss! Then came the computer age. In 1988 I opened myself up to this new world. And from that time on I’ve been hooked! I can’t live without computers. I’m even hoping God has some good ones in heaven. It’s the “renewal” that gives me headaches. My son-in-law might say that I give him head-aches. But I can’t say how glad I am for his help!

The Word of God tells us to renew our mind. If the mind needs to be renewed, so much more a mundane thing like a computer (that works like a mind). We act funny around computers, don’t we? We talked to them; some even hit the computer, as if that’s going to help. I pull my hairs!

I will make it just fine with my new computer. It’s just the renewal process that’s killing me. I’m sure I’ll survive. When all is said and done, many new blogs will come out of that “new” computer.

God bless my new computer!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

