Recreating a Memory

On Wednesday I had a dentist appointment. Have you ever dressed up to go to the dentist? That’s what I did! Because I spend so much time alone, inside, I felt a need to feel pretty and enjoy the “outing.” Here’s a picture I made of the experience, just to create a memory. Even a dentist appointment can be made into a memory!

7-17-13-feel pretty

I live on the north side of Springfield. Most of the stores and restaurants are on the south side. One of them is Colton’s Steak House. My husband and I went there a few times and shared a plate of pork chops. Lately I have been craving to go there. I don’t like meat; I usually only have vegetables and beans; so I don’t know why I was craving it.

After spending almost two hours at the dentist (I didn’t have anything mayor done; they just needed to check how my gums were doing, because of periodontal disease), I decided to go to Colton’s. I wanted to recreate a memory. Bengt and I had enjoyed those visits. We didn’t go very often; but the food had made an impression on me, especially a dipping sauce and the salad dressing.

Six years can make a difference. New cooks; new recipes… whatever it was, the food didn’t taste like I remembered it. Maybe the problem was that I didn’t have anybody to share it with. Company makes a lot of difference!

At Coltons 2013

Colton’s is a “cowboy” restaurant. All the decor has to do with cowboys. You get peanuts to enjoy; as many as you want. I had a salad, a pork chop, and sweet potato fries. I’m sure it was good, but the empty seat beside me affected my palate. It wasn’t a good idea to recreate the memory.

Talking about memories… Tomorrow will be four years since my friend Edita went to be with the Lord. Last year I published a memory about her, posting some pictures from a visit to the cemetery in memory of her. Somebody is sending me requests that I delete those pictures. Whoever you are, be up-front, don’t use made up e-mail addresses, and don’t tell me that the pictures and comments will affect your work with the government in Lima, Peru. Be honest and tell me the real reason.

As long as Edita’s daughter doesn’t mind those pictures being on my blog, they will stay! Edita deserves memories in her honor. She was one of God’s faithful servants.

Another thing that disturbs me, is that whoever is sending me the comments is using one of my friend’s names, a friend who would never object to the pictures or write something like the requests I’m getting.

There is nothing wrong with recreating memories, but they can be deceiving. Nothing is like the real thing! To keep the good memory of the times Bengt and I went to Colton’s, I will not eat there anymore. I’d rather keep the memory in my mind than get a “bad taste” in my mouth. I’m picky, especially with food. I’ll just keep staying home eating my salads.

Have a great day! Create a memory!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Food, My Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

