When Broken, Fix It

One of my friends said to me about a certain situation, “If you didn’t break it, don’t fix it.” That might work in certain situations, but if possible, do fix something that’s broken.

I’m talking about relationships.

I’ve lived with a disappointment for a year, because someone promised to accept an invitation for dinner at my house, and never got back to me about a convenient date. There was more involved than just a dinner date. Today I decided to take the bull by the horns and “fix” that.

We had a talk, the person apologized, and I accepted the apology. That felt good! There was no reason to give the devil a foothold. That’s what we do if we turn a disappointment into a grudge.

I’ve had many “sticky” situations during my life. One time a friend gave me this timely advice: “Whatever happens, don’t get bitter.” You’ve probably heard it said that instead of getting bitter we should get better. I’m glad to say that with God’s help I didn’t get bitter.

The Apostle Paul advices us that we should “make every effort to live in peace with all men and to be holy; without holiness no one will see the Lord. See to it that no one misses the grace of God and that no bitter root grows up to cause trouble and defile many” (Hebrews 12:14-15).

Ephesians 4:30-32
And do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God, with whom you were sealed for the day of redemption. Get rid of all bitterness, rage and anger, brawling and slander, along with every form of malice. Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.

Instead of concentrating on disappointments and hurts, let’s “fix” that which can be fixed. In my work with translation for orphan children the latest lesson I’ve done was about arguing and making up. There will always be—one way or another—disagreements and arguments. The important thing is that we make up.

There are more hurts in my life that I would like to be healed. Someone said that the best part of having a fight was the making up afterwards. Sometimes one of the parties involved doesn’t want to make up. Then the broken relationship is in jeopardy. But we can pray about it. Maybe we feel like the egg in this story.

broken egg

Eggie was a playful and mischievous little egg.

One day he happily sat down on a crate.

Something funny made Eggie laugh so hard he fell off…

…but that wasn’t funny!

Eggie’s broken pieces cannot be fixed.

But God can fix broken hearts and broken relationships. I’m glad for the healing he brought to my heart today. As long as there’s life, there is hope. Let’s forgive and fix whatever is broken.

Colossians 3:13-14
Bear with each other and forgive whatever grievances you may have against one another. Forgive as the Lord forgave you. And over all these virtues put on love, which binds them all together in perfect unity.

With God’s help I will fix what’s broken!

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Forgiveness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

