Five Year Cancer-Free

Today marks my five-year anniversary of my last chemo treatment. It had been a long year of surgery and treatments, not to mention the death of my husband that I also experienced that year.

I asked the Lord that he would let me live, most of all for the sake of my daughter and my grandchildren. Little did I know that it would be for the children of the world.

S_-2-08 Kerstin_Friend

A sad state I endured five years ago

I marked my Bible with these two verses:

Remember your word to your servant,
for you have given me hope.
Psalm 119:49

I will not die but live,
and will proclaim what the Lord has done.
Psalm 118:17

Kerstin 7-2013

Five years later with beautiful silvery hair

My great prayer was that God would let me proclaim his wonders to the next generation. He has called me to publish all my teaching materials on the web. Since I had worked with Spanish all my life I took it for granted that it meant for the Spanish-speaking world. But the Lord has broadened my horizons to reach out to the world. Let me tell you it’s a big job. I have to start out by doing everything in English so that it then can be translated to whoever would like to use the materials.

This is a strictly personal effort; no financial backing. I always keep in mind George Muller, the man who cared for orphans only praying to God for whatever he needed to supply for them. It wasn’t just two or three but thousands that he cared for. He trusted the Father of the fatherless, and God supplied. I’m trusting the same great God, the Defender of widows.

I want to give special thanks and honor to God for helping me through the challenges of the cancer and the recuperating process. I’m still struggling with the effects of the treatments, and even at this very moment enduring excruciating pain in my hands and feet because of damaged nerves. I can’t let that stop me. As long as I have breath I will give every ounce of energy to spreading the Gospel for the children of the world.

Will you pray for me, that God will give me several more “five years” in his service? The immediate plans I have will take several years to accomplish. Maybe God will put it on your heart to be one of the volunteers.

My immediate helpers are my Dad, Cristina, Nancy, Ximena, Malena, Absalom, Patsy, Clemencia, not to mention those who God has put as my prayer partners. Keep them also in your prayers. This is not “my” ministry but the Lord’s. He has asked me to keep the wheels rolling. What a privilege! I wish my husband could see me today. He would see happy answers to many of his prayers!

I praise God for giving me life
to serve him!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

