Peru in my Heart

This is the day when Peru celebrates their independence. I arrived in Peru when I was 10 years old and spent my formative pre-teen and teen years there. Peru has captured my heart.

I spent the afternoon doing some collages to commemorate this day. My heart is set on the children. I’ve spent my life preparing teaching materials to reach them with the Gospel and I want to spend the latter part of my life doing the same.

Kids Peru

These beautiful children represent the friends I grew up with and the children God has put on my heart. Most of these children are from a feeding program that my parents instituted. One of these days I need to write a story about that program, which is still working.

Peru July 28

The little girl on the right is my assistant Cristina’s niece, who just had a birthday. Her mother and her aunts were planning a big party for her. I guess I’ll hear all about after the holidays. Today and tomorrow are holidays in Peru. The little girl on the left is from the high altitudes by Lake Titicaca.  Her cheeks are burned by the sun and the cold.

Peru is a country with many natural riches. Peru’s coat of arms (above the little girl) represents the riches in the animal kingdom, the plant kingdom, and the mineral kingdom.

The colors of the flag, red and white, represent the blood (red) that was spilled fighting for independence and the desire for peace (white).

I like to compare the flag with what Jesus did for us. He shed his blood on the Cross so we could have forgiveness of sins and God’s peace in our heart.

16 PERU - copia

I have a long list of names of people to pray for in Peru. One goes back to the time I went to elementary school, my friend Susana. Others are the people I’ve worked with years back. Some are my former Bible Institute students, others are from my Sunday School. Some are not in Peru anymore. Friends from way back are in Sweden, in Germany, in the USA, in Canada, in Holland, in France, in Spain, in Nicaragua… Isn’t it interesting how life can take us to different places?

Today I have united all my friends in prayer. We might not see each other anytime more on earth, but because of Jesus and his sacrifice in the Cross, we have the hope of spending eternity together in God’s wonderful heaven.

Long live Peru!
¡Que viva el Peru, que viva!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Peru and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

