My Flower Bed

For a long time I’ve wanted to have a flower bed by the entrance of my house, but due to my health condition it hasn’t been possible. Saturday, the Lord sent some young people my way who made my dream come true.

This isn’t the best time of the year to initiate a flower bed, but anytime is better than no time, don’t you think? I wasn’t able to get the flowers I had in mind, but any flowers are better than no flowers, right?

The weather was perfect! Not sweltering hot like it usually is at the end of July. They worked four hours digging and planting. Springfield is famous for stony ground and they found MANY stones. You can see some of them on the top right of my picture collage. Now I have to figure out a way to dispose of those stones.

One thing I can’t forget. I will have to water my flowers. Otherwise my neighbor across the street will be very sad. She called to me Saturday and was so happy that she finally was going to have something nice to look at! You see, I enjoy her front lawn from my point of view. Now she has something to enjoy!

Flower bedThe black material stretched out will keep the weeds from coming up. What you do is cut holes in the material and insert the plants. Then you cover everything with top soil and mulch. What a great idea! Come spring, I will have to figure out a way to put in the new plants I want. This flower bed will glow with marigolds. That’s my plan.

I did not only get a flower bed done. I also got my back door painted. My friends needed work and I was happy to give it to them. What joy to be able to pay some friends for a job well done, rather than a stranger!

IMG_7169

That wasn’t all the activity going on. I had a company come out to inspect the house for termites. That is something that can happen in this area. Termites can start eating on the house! They also treated it for all kinds of bugs. Remember I said I had found cockroaches? The good news is that they are American roaches! German roaches are the worse kind to get. Hopefully I don’t have to see any more running across the floor or crawling up the doors.

I am very happy about my Saturday. O, I almost forgot! It ended with a birthday party for our pastor’s wife in a Mexican restaurant. How’s that for a Saturday in my life? Usually it just Me, Myself, and I. It was fun to have some change!

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Flower Bed

  1. Cassie McCown says:

    Hello, Kerstin. I share your love of flowers, especially marigolds. I have some growing in my front flowerbed. I hope your flowerbed flourishes and gives you much satisfaction! I miss you. Cassie

Leave a Reply

