A Bragging Grandmother

I had a bragging grandmother, my paternal grandmother. She bragged about her children and grandchildren to her hearts content. Those of you who speak Swedish will get this: “Jag bara storskrävlar!” She bragged and she talked big, always good things.

One time, for Mother’s Day, Dad was away and Mom and us kids went to see Grandmother. Mom told her that she probably was not so happy because Dad couldn’t come to greet her. She got upset, saying that her daughters-in-law meant just as much to her. There was no difference!

I loved my grandmother! I loved both of them. But I spent very little time with them because we grew up in South America and my grandmothers were in Sweden. Both of them died when I was a teen. But I think I’ve inherited something from my paternal grandmother. I feel like I’m a bragging grandmother, just like her. And I don’t apologize for it.

Probably at least half of my blogs are about my grandchildren. Now I’m going to brag about them again. They had a weekend vacation in Florida. Their big brother has enlisted in the Navy and they went to see him. At the same time they got to see the ocean and play at the beach. One of the girls didn’t like it because of the the waves. She wanted a beach without waves! Imagine the ocean without waves?!

Cole Vacation 2013

From left to right: John and Sarah, Lana, Sarah and my daughter, her mom
Brianna and David, my son-in-law and his son, Sarah buried in the sand

These are my jewels, the most precious gifts God has given me. I think it’s important the we love each other, and if we brag a little about it, I’m sure it doesn’t hurt.

I know a little girl who is loved as much as my grandchildren. It’s Cristina’s niece. She turned two this past weekend. Cristina sent me a collage from her birthday party. We talked about how much she is loved and how all children should be loved that way. But many are not. Then there are the children who don’t have anybody to love them. And the children who nobody prays for.

I like to pray for the children nobody prays for. Will you pray for the children in your town who nobody prays for?

cumpleaños

   Birthday celebration in Lima, Peru

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My grandchildren and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

