Dreaming with the Angels

Sarah and I were praying. She told me last night she had a bad dream “and God didn’t fix it” for her. But then she went to sleep again and He gave her a good dream. Then both of us had good dreams. She got to sleep with her grandmother. And I got to enjoy her!

In English we say we have “sweet dreams.” In Spanish you wish someone that they will “dream with the angels.” That is so awesome! We have promises in God’s Word that angels watch over us. We can go through one scripture after another in which an angel was sent with a message or a special assignment.

Let me just give you a couple of words of comfort.

Psalm 91:11-13
For he will command his angels concerning you
to guard you in all your ways;
they will lift you up in their hands,
so that you will not strike your foot against a stone.
You will tread upon the lion and the cobra;
you will trample the great lion and the serpent.

Psalm 34:7
The angel of the LORD encamps around those who fear him,
and he delivers them.

Isaiah 63:9
In all their distress he too was distressed,
and the angel of his presence saved them.
In his love and mercy he redeemed them;
he lifted them up and carried them all the days of old.

Jesus, talking about the little ones: Matthew 18:10

“See that you do not look down on one of these little ones. For I tell you that their angels in heaven always see the face of my Father in heaven.

Angels carry us when it’s our time: Luke 16:22

“The time came when the beggar died and the angels carried him to Abraham’s side.”

Little Sarah is not thinking about that time yet. She said at dinner she doesn’t want to go to heaven. We wondered why? It’s just that she wants to stay on earth. She is enjoying life.

Sarah and RascalSarah has not had her hair cut, ever. This week she is starting Kindergarten and she is going to have her hair trimmed. She doesn’t want that! She wants to have Rapunzel hair! Some of you might remember how she used to tell Rapunzel stories. And Rapunzel has looong hair!

She loves her long hair. And she loves Rascal, her cat. The tomato plant is something all the children are enjoying. Summer has gone fast. Now it’s time to get ready for another school year. Here is my daughter packing their bags. When she went to school we had other bags to pack. It wasn’t just a back-pack. For a few year we had to pack suitcases and send our girl to boarding school in another country! Those years are long gone. I’m glad I got to enjoy seeing my daughter “pack” for her kids this school year.

When Carina and her big sister Eva-Marie went to boarding school I always asked Carina to keep track of things. She was dependable. Now she is a dependable mother!

Packing for school (2)Brianna is starting third grade. She is the one who is always thinking of others. Yesterday she went with me to do some errands at on office supply store. She enjoyed pushing my chair from aisle to aisle. What was she looking for? Something she could give as a present to her new teacher! We are giving her a nice notebook and a pen, wishing her a good school year.

I wish more people were dependable as my daughter and generous as my granddaughter. I know who Brianna got that quality from! Her mother used to be the same way. Tonight it’s Brianna’s turn to sleep with her grandmother. To have quality time we are reading a book I wrote about her mother when she was a six-year-old girl living in Peru.

Now it’s time for me to wish you sweet dreams so Brianna and I can read some more chapters, or maybe it’s morning and you had good dreams!

I wish you God’s very best!

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My grandchildren and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

