Starting Over

I’m having a BIG problem. The interaction between the programs I do my curriculum lay-outs in and the PDF-files and the uploading on the Internet is causing havoc. Decorative shadows on titles and dotted lines to divide spaces either don’t turn out or turn out as ugly dark boxes.

This morning I went back to check some of the series of lessons I’ve published and I realized how horrible this whole thing is. I will have to start over again! I’ll have to go through every single file to discover where the problems are, and then correct them and do the up-load once again. Disappointment washed over me. This would not have happened if I hadn’t been so “picky,” wanting to do everything perfect and as beautiful as possible. Why couldn’t I have just done simple titles?

Then I started thinking about how God has to start over with us, time and time again. The Lord told Jeremiah to go to the potter’s house and observe his work.

Jeremiah 18:1-6

This is the word that came to Jeremiah from the LORD: “Go down to the potter’s house, and there I will give you my message.” So I went down to the potter’s house, and I saw him working at the wheel. But the pot he was shaping from the clay was marred in his hands; so the potter formed it into another pot, shaping it as seemed best to him. Then the word of the LORD came to me: “O house of Israel, can I not do with you as this potter does?” declares the LORD. “Like clay in the hand of the potter, so are you in my hand, O house of Israel.

The Lord spoke to me, how He with loving hands starts molding us again, and again, and again. When the clay of our life is marred in his hands, He doesn’t throw us in a pile of dirt. He works out what is “mess-up” and lovingly forms us again. We are being transformed into the likeness of Christ.

I will have to go back to every file and take out the “shadows” that cause the problem. May God help me do it with love, just like He works in my life. For over sixty years, my Father has been so faithful and true —that is His nature— in the midst of all my shortcomings.

One day I will stand in His presence, clothed in the righteousness of Christ, never more to mess up, because I will have reached Home! All because of Jesus, my precious Savior! O, how I love Jesus!

God will start over with me, over and over, as many times it takes. And one day I will stand perfect in his presence—all because of Jesus my Lord! How I look forward to that day!

How about you? Maybe you’re at a low point in your life. Have you made a mess of things? Bow on your knees at the cross of Jesus. God will start over in your life. He will make something new. After the storm is over, you will see that it turned out better. We go from strength to strength (see Psalm 84:7).

I have a big job ahead of me, with at least 300 files to open up and correct. Then I have to make a new PDF and upload it on the web. It’s not a difficult task but very time-consuming. I wish I had discovered this in the beginning. This wasn’t a problem two years ago. The program designers have put in some new features and now I have to start over.

May God help me keep a smile on my face, as I picture He does every time He has to “start over” with me.

My perfect Father is perfecting me in Jesus, just like Jesus said, “Be perfect, therefore, as your heavenly Father is perfect” (Matthew 5:48).

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Inspiration from Jeremiah and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

