God’s Prescription for Tough Times

I “preached” this message (what I’m about to preach to you) to my designer in Lima, Peru an hour ago. Skype is a wonderful thing! We prayed together and the presence of God permeated my whole being. I feel the Lord so close to me as if I could touch Him. I can’t see him with my physical eyes. But He is here!

While reading His Word, He gave me a prescription for tough times. I have one of “those” at the moment (tough times). It’s nothing that I want to broadcast to the world; it’s enough that God knows!

This is the prescription, written by the Apostle Paul, who was very versed in suffering. He knew what he was talking about.

Rom1212

For any situation, how hopeless it might seem, there is HOPE! Let the Lord fill your heart with joy. Rejoice in the hope of a new day, of things being different, of a solution coming beyond the horizon.

Then exercise PATIENCE. Remember the quote from last time? We need a lot of patience to learn patience, and especially in times of affliction. Patient in affliction. That is sandwiched in between hope and prayer!

Finally, we have to be faithful in PRAYER! WRAP IT IN PRAYER! Let’s say you wrap a present for someone. The present becomes invisible because the paper covers it. Or you wrap something in a sheet or a blanket. It’s gone to the eye!

Wrap your afflictions in prayer! Prayer changes things. When you wrap your problem in prayer you don’t have to look at it. The devil brings it before us constantly. He wants us to nurse and rehearse the problem. Jesus says to cast our cares on Him (see 1 Peter 5:7). Give him the package!

Paul has something more to say!

Romans 15:13
May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him,
so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.

THE GOD OF HOPE! Wow! He fills us with all joy and peace as we trust in Him. That, my dear friend, is the key. No wonder I’m feeling such peace and joy in my heart! Jesus, my Savior, is taking care of my affliction. The problem looks impossible. But nothing is impossible with God! I have that in a frame in my bathroom, where I can see it every time I look in the mirror. It reminds me that God can do miracles!

I’m taking this “prescription” of hope. I’m letting the Lord fill me with his joy and peace. Will you do the same? Even if you don’t have an affliction (sooner or later you’ll have one!), be faithful in prayer. Wrap your day in prayer! Wrap you loved ones in prayer! Wrap everything you do in prayer! Then…

Overflow with hope
by the power of the Holy Spirit!

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Prayer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

