Our Source of Strength

Lately I have been writing about patience, probably because I’ve had to exercise it a lot. Maybe my muscle strength in that area was weak and I needed to strengthen it. That is the patience we learn by practicing.

Have you ever asked God to give you patience? He will give it to you, but it comes by the way of “trials” (tribulations, problems).

Romans 5:3-5
Not only so, but we also rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope. And hope does not disappoint us, because God has poured out his love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom he has given us.

Suffering produces perseverance! It’s as simple as that! But it’s not so simple… There is also the patience that is the fruit of the Spirit. It’s nothing we can practice. It’s God’s work in our lives!

I have marveled these last few days at God’s work of patience in my circumstances. I could have thrown in the towel! After working hours and hours, and not only I but also my designer Cristina, it didn’t work when I uploaded the files on my web-site. It was just a matter of starting over, doing it differently… and it would be wonderful to report that it worked! Not so! Then I tried another approach. It was past midnight on Monday when I finally seemed to get something worked out. But it’s not “perfect as I would like it to be.

What am I talking about? I’m trying to design the memory verse for each lesson. That is not my problem. The problem is to make it work after the pdf file is made and uploaded, and then downloaded and printed. It has to work anyplace, in the most remote corners. That’s what I’m hoping for. That’s my goal!

To most of my blog-readers this probably doesn’t make sense. Don’t worry about it, just listen to my testimony on how the Lord has given me his patience. In the midst of the frustrations I’ve had a wonderful peace. The presence of the Lord has been so real, so sweet, so comforting. Suffering produces perseverance, wrote the Apostle Paul. I would say it also produces sweet presence.

As to my progress with correcting all the files that I had enhanced with special effects to make the Bible verses stand out, I have “corrected” 45 lessons plus several other materials. The number 45 looks like no big deal. But lots of work goes into it. And now, I’m 45 lessons closer to the finish line!

Let me encourage you with the word God has encouraged me this morning. Cristina has done the drawing of the soldier with the armor of God. Be strong in the Lord. He will help you practice patience, but he will also produce the fruit of patience in you. Nothing beats that! He is our Source of Strength!

Strong in the Lord

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Christian Life, Encouragement and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

