Sarah’s Crutches

This is not a story about my granddaughter Sarah, but about another little girl, a girl with a very generous heart.

I’ve been keeping at my project of correcting all the messed up files because of shadows and other effects I added to the titles of my stories and lessons. Everything else has been put on hold! I have progress to report. All the lessons are done. I’ve also added colored visuals to the lessons on Genesis, a goal I have for all the lessons.

My designer Cristina and I have decided to publish one illustrated story a month. That means the teachers get flash-cards. This weekend I came up with the idea of making a little booklet; something fun and useful for the kids. I’ve made a booklet in English for you to see, and USE if you would like. Click on the link and print. The paper size is the regular 8.5 x 11 common in the USA.

Sarah’s Crutches

This was the first story I published when I started putting stories on-line. I didn’t think about it at the time, but now I realize what a perfect story it was. I was in a very bad shape, recovering from cancer treatments. My feet were damaged because of neuropathy. There was not very much I could do apart from “sitting.” My offering to Jesus, to reach the boys and girls of the world, were and are the stories I publish. I was strictly focused on Spanish. Now the Lord has widened my horizons and English and other languages are on the radar.

Allow me to share the story of Sarah and her crutches. The English translation has been done by my friend Nancy Crowson and the art belongs to Cristina Alvarez. All the glory is due to Jesus!

3 Sara.paradaThis story is about Sarah. Sarah had never walked. She was crippled. Every day she knelt by the window and watched the children playing outside her home. Sometimes Sarah cried because she could not play with them.

Sarah’s parents were very poor, but they began to save money to buy crutches for their daughter. It was very sad to see her so unhappy. After saving for a long time they could finally buy a pair of crutches for Sarah.

Imagine how happy she was to get her crutches! Now she could go outside to be with the other children as they played. She could also go with her friends to Sunday school.

ENG.Muletas 1coOne unforgettable Sunday, Sarah opened her heart to the Lord Jesus. She asked forgiveness for her sins and accepted Jesus as her Savior. Things changed in her life immediately! She didn’t have to feel alone again. Now she had a friend who was always with her…Jesus.

Shortly afterwards there was a special visitor at the church. He was a missionary who had come to tell them stories about other lands where children also wanted to hear about Jesus. When the missionary had finished speaking, the pastor announced that they would collect an offering so that more children from other countries could hear about Jesus.

Sarah didn’t have a single coin to put in the offering. She was eager to give something, so she asked the Lord Jesus to give her an idea. “Dear Jesus,” prayed Sarah, “I would like to give something to help other children to hear about you. I have nothing to give in the offering. Please help me, Lord! ”

When the collection basket came by an idea quickly crossed her mind. That’s what she would do! She took her crutches and laid them on top of the basket. Then she prayed again, “Dear Jesus, I am happy to give you my crutches. Please use them so that children of other lands can be saved.”

Muletas 7coJesus answered Sarah’s prayer in a wonderful way. A good man who loved the Lord, bought Sara’s crutches. Then he returned them to Sarah. He put the money in the collection basket. The sacrificial gift that Sarah gave made the adults ashamed of their small gifts. They pulled out their wallets again and dropped more money in the basket.

That day there was great joy in the church! Sarah’s legs could not jump, but her heart leaped with joy! Now many children could hear the message of God’s love.

I want to be generous like Sarah in this story. Like she offered her crutches, I want to give Jesus everything that I am, for Him to use for his glory. Are you with me on this? Let’s ask the Lord what he would have us do to honor his name!

ENG.Muletas 8co

2 Corinthians 9:7

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Generosity and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

