The Bible for All

Many brave men and women have had this goal in mind, to provide the Bible for all. We have a variety of translations to choose from. The same is true in the Spanish language, which I work with. I’m publishing stories this month about the Bible, since September is Bible Month in Latin America.

Today’s story celebrates one of the many brave missionaries who risked his life to bring the Word of God to those who did not have it. This year marks 200 years since missionary Adoniram Judson arrived in Burma. His firm intention was to translate the Bible so that the people there could read it in their own language. Look up his name in the search engine and read his remarkable story!

ENG.B.ESCONDIDAcolor

When he had translated the New Testament he was imprisoned for the Gospel. His wife came up with the brilliant idea of hiding the manuscript in a pillow. She carried that “hard” pillow to the prison. The guards didn’t care about it. Who wanted an old, hard pillow? That pillow was filled with a treasure!

We have the Word of God because of His faithful servants, devoted to the translation of the Scriptures. Many translators of the Bible were imprisoned, tortured, and even killed. But nobody has been able to prevent “the message of the Lord [to] spread rapidly and be honored” (2 Thess 3:1).

Let’s thank God for the efforts of men and women in the past. Bringing the Bible to us cost them many tears, imprisonment, and even death. The entire Bible has been translated into over 450 languages. According to the United Bible Societies, parts of Scriptures are available in 2,527 of the world’s estimated 6,500 languages. There is still much work to do for everyone, worldwide, to have the Holy Bible. Let’s pray for the faithful servants of the Lord working to translate God’s Word to the many languages ​​that still do not have a Bible.

When we open our Bible, let’s consider this great treasure we hold in our hands. Let’s thank God that his Holy Word came to us.

My Bible Tower S

This is my Bible tower. My heart cries when I think of having so many Bibles when there are people that do not even have one. Why am I so privileged?

I love God’s Word and I agree wholeheartedly with the psalmist:

I obey your statutes,
for I love them greatly.

Ps 119:167 NIV

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Bible and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

