Fruit of the Loom

I learned a new word today! I guess I didn’t know it because I had no reason to use it. Of course I’d heard it and said it many times, but I thought it meant something totally different. What is the word? Loom! I’ve known it in Swedish and in Spanish, because we used to have one at home at times. This loom is my sister’s and Dad and his wife Mary are working on a rug.

Fruit of the LoomThis “fruit” might make it to my suitcase or they might do another one for me. The colors are beautiful and they would fit in my living room! I can assure you, I’ll never forget the word loom!

I’ve already spent a few days in Sweden. The weather has been pleasant, my work-station is comfortable, the food is delicious, the flowers are still blooming, the moon is shining…

Vasterg 4This is my sister and Ola’s house. They’ve worked hard this summer on painting it. The people who lived here before didn’t care so there’s lots of work to do. The big window above the door is to the room where I’m staying. The little red bike on the bottom left picture is Mary’s. She takes Dad on short walks every day and takes such good care of him.

One big question she has. How have the dahlias changed color? They used to be maroon and now they are bright red. Maybe one of my readers can give us the answer.

Swedish lunchDad and Mary (top left) live on the second floor. The Swedish lunch was served on the first floor by my sister. She’s got a green orchid, as you can see. We had ground beef soup. My grandchildren would have called it taco soup. Hard tacks are the typical Swedish bread. At the lower left are lingon berries cooking on the stove and on the right the typical Swedish pancakes, served on a plate that came in my suitcase. I surprised my sister with American dinner-ware!

It’s 10.00 in the evening. It’s quiet!. The only sounds are the ticking clocks and my keyboard. Mary is giving me foot-massage, Dad is busy with crossword-puzzles. You could hear a in drop! It was so quiet we connected with Peru and now we hear two keyboards and Peruvian radio. Yes, we needed some noise.

Let me finish with a good joke. It’s on Mary. A blind man says to a crippled man, “You’ll be my eyes and I’ll be your feet. You’ll guide me where I want to go and I’ll carry you where you can’t go!” Mary dais it’s not supposed to be a joke, just a saying. Something good to take to heart. We can help each other. Like she is doing with my feet. It feels so good!

What’s the noise from Peru? Cristina is listening to clean jokes! So Mary and I get in on them, too!

Tomorrow is a new day. May you have a good one!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Land of the Vikings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

