Destined to Die

This might not be the most popular subject, but we cannot avoid it. We are all destined to die! The truth is that as soon as we are born we start the process of dying.

Hebrews 9:27-28
Just as man is destined to die once, and after that to face judgment, so Christ was sacrificed once to take away the sins of many people; and he will appear a second time, not to bear sin, but to bring salvation to those who are waiting for him.

If our hope is in Christ, death is the most joyous experience to look forward to. We will see our Savior face to face and never be separated! Do you have that hope?

destined to dieThese trees in my sister’s garden are destined to die. They are tall and majestic, but she doesn’t like their specialty. As tall and strong and majestic as they are, they don’t bury their roots way down but rather they spread them, so she can find the root-system on the other side of the garden! Now they have to die, so other plats can grow!

Now,  that’s a lesson. They die so others can grow. That’s exactly what Jesus did for us. He died so we may grow strong and have life eternal. Praise his name!

John 12:24-26
I tell you the truth, unless a kernel of wheat falls to the ground and dies, it remains only a single seed. But if it dies, it produces many seeds. The man who loves his life will lose it, while the man who hates his life in this world will keep it for eternal life. Whoever serves me must follow me; and where I am, my servant also will be. My Father will honor the one who serves me.

I didn’t understand why Agneta had cut the bark off the trees. She was told that if she just cut down the trees, the root-system would sprout out again and she would still have the problem of the roots spreading all over her garden. This way, the trees will dry out and die, roots and all!

While waiting for this slow death process, she might as well enjoy the view. Why not? Have seat among these trees destined to die. While sitting there, ponder and meditate. As the writer of one of the lessons for orphan children I’m translating says, “Sit quietly and listen to God. Just sit and let him speak to you.”

Have a seatEnjoy the view!

Let God speak to you!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Land of the Vikings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

