Fifty Years of Friendship

We had a special visit yesterday afternoon. Some old-time missionary friends from Peru, Lennart and Boyan Lindgren. It’s been over 50 years of friendship. When Dad started his ministry in Peru, a few years later Lennart came to join him. I was a teen-ager at the time.

Per and Lindgrens

Dad and our friends from the Good-Old-Times in Peru

I could write a long story but there is no time for that now. I’m going to get disconnected from the web. My sister and Ola are changing providers and we don’t know if we’re going to have any problems in the switch, so I have to get busy with my weekly story and make sure that it is done.

The story is about the Plank and the Sawdust. Jesus taught that it is so easy to find faults in others and forget the “big ones” we have. In my story I have a big brother teaching his sister the lesson Jesus gave us in the Sermon on the Mount.

astilla y viga

“Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye?  How can you say to your brother, ‘Brother, let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when you yourself fail to see the plank in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the plank out of your eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye.”  Luke 6:41-42

Take a piece o wood and a tooth-pick and compare them. That gives you and idea about what Jesus taught. We worry so much about the speck of sawdust in someone else’s eye, when there is a plank in our own eye!

tronco y palillo

“First take the plank out of your eye!” That’s something to mediate on!

Forget even the “specks of sawdust” and you can keep friends for half a century!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

