A Hero Turns 93

The celebrations are over. No, we have one more, an invitation to the Lutheran state church. When people reach the respectable age of 90, they celebrate their birthdays every year. Dad is the Hero that has turned 93 and now he can take someone with him to the celebration on Thursday, and it will be me. His wife, Mary, is at school at that hour studying the Swedish language.

This morning the pastor from the church my Dad is a member of in Vaggeryd came to wish him greetings from the church. He’s new in town so it was interesting to meet him. He promised me a service when I do my 50-years-as-a-missionary celebration tour. It’s coming up very soon!

Per and Henrik

Dad together with Pastor Henrik Mjörnell in Vaggeryd, Sweden

I know that my “hero” would not like it if he knew I was writing all this about him, but I can’t help it. As I’ve written on previous occasions, he is my hero! He’s modeled to me what it means to trust the Lord.

This morning we had a little activity of encouragement. You think of positive descriptive words about a person and then chose one. Mary, Dad’s wife, chose “example” for him. He has been a very good example for us. A descriptive word Dad used for her was “loving” and we gave her that name. I was given the name Perseverent. It’s not a bad idea to give someone a new name like that. I got the idea from the lessons for orphans I’m translating. Today is a celebration of finishing another 40 lessons!

I’m not going to repeat myself, so if you want to read about my Father-Missionary-Hero-Friend, go to September 30, 2011. When the Lord calls this servant home, our inheritance will not be monetary but of much more value. He will leave us a heritage of faith. His new name, Example, fits him perfectly!

Dad 93

I’m so glad I had the privilege of being with him for this birthday. In 2010 we had a big celebration for him in Peru, which also is registered in my blogs. My sister served a birthday dinner on Saturday. We had four generations. And Dad had four of his five children with him. Missing Pepe from USA.

Slide2

Dad and AlidaSlide13

One of the youngest ones, Alida, was very helpful in bringing her Great-Grandfather the presents, and she helped him open each one of them. My sister Ingrid had written her greeting on a balloon. That’s an idea you might want to use.

Slide15

Britta, the youngest one present, daughter to my “little” tall brother Lars

Per (my Dad’s first name) has spent most of his missionary life in Peru. You might know that potatoes originate from Peru. So, what would a party for him be without potatoes? My sister made the most delicious dish from Peru with potatoes: Papa a la huancaína. And it’s a dish from the town where he has worked the longest and where he married his wife Mary. It’s potatoes with a spicy egg sauce. Like they say in Peru, it was so good as “for licking your fingers!”

Slide5

Last night we had cake and special greetings from my brother that couldn’t come. And he sent a message asking what Dad would like for a present. Being practical his wife said he would like boxer shorts. But Dad had another wish, to get a tricycle. His balance is not stable enough to ride a regular bike.

What will my brother do about those wishes? He might even chose to give him two presents!

The stores are full of stuff he doesn’t need is what Dad usually says. Why this desire for a tricycle? To go to the grocery store (a store full of stuff people DO need!) and help people get their groceries from the door to their car in the parking lot! The system here is somewhat different from what you may be used to. That would be a good use of such a present!

Pepe Bike

This is my brother who might buy him a tricycle. When he was this tiny and cute (his wife might say that now he is only cute!) he wished for a tricycle but Dad had no money to buy one. So we prayed about it! The answer came in an offer from a neighbor, whose kid’s had outgrown their tricycle!

That is another “example” Mister Example has given us, to pray about things. We can’t even count all the answers to prayer we’ve had over the years.

B-cake Dad

Would you like to have a taste of the B-cake? Sorry, it’s gone! But, thanks to my brother, and my sister who did the honor of purchasing it, we enjoyed it.

I will have to move on and get to my work. This week is very special with celebrations. My hero’s birthday and also we’re celebrating La Perlita 200! In four years I have published 200 story-papers. I’ll get back to that by the end of the week. It’s 5.00 PM. My workday should be over, but in Peru it’s 10.00 AM, so I’ve got to give my friend Cristina instructions. We have got a lot of work to do for our 200th story.

Guess who has typed at least 100 of the stories for me? Mister Example! And he is still typing. Here’s a picture of the stories he is typing now. These stories were published in Bolivia 30 years ago. Today, they will make a new generation of kids happy.

IMG_7739

What a blessing to have a Hero Dad! Praise be to God!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Fathers, Land of the Vikings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

