Cinnamon Rolls and Teflon Memory

In Sweden a cinnamon roll is called “kanelbulle.” Since 1999 this day, October 4th, has been the day of the cinnamon rolls. My brother-in-law Ola gave us a bag-full of them yesterday so we could celebrate. He’s a chef and cooks for 100 children at a day care center. These rolls he baked for them all to celebrate the day!

Kanelbulle

See the one in the middle? It’s not there anymore. It’s traveling through the dark passages of the esophagus finding its way to a certain decomposition. It was good. I enjoyed it! But now it is no more!

Yesterday I enjoyed some similar pastries at a birthday party at the Swedish Lutheran Church. They invite people in town who have turned 80, 85, 90, and then each year after that. We had a good time, singing songs, chatting, and drinking coffee and pastries. They didn’t celebrate me. I’m still young. It was my dad.

I felt like I had taken on my mothers mantel. She was a talker and would make friends wherever she went. Dad and I are more the quiet type. It turned out that the priest sat down at our table. We got to talking and he gave me some good jokes to pass along. The best one I’ve already used a few times.

“I’ve got Teflon memory… Nothing sticks–it slips!”

B party at Swedish church copy

It’s true! I can’t remember a thing, other than that it was fun and enjoyable. Maybe if I take a break it will come back. The memory. Not the cinnamon roll, I hope.

Tomorrow I’m traveling to Tidan, Skövde to preach on Sunday. I take the train from Vaggeryd to Jönköping at 10.47 AM. In Jönköping I have to change trains. In Skövde a lady friend will meet me and drive me to Tidan. I know her, I stayed with her last year.

Here’s something special about Sweden. You take sheets and towels with you when you visit. This friend called to tell me I didn’t have to bother with that.

Back to the priest and the party. I do remember something. My memory must be a bad quality of Teflon. That’s a good thing! But not if you want to fry an egg.

The priest talked about the mustard seed and what Jesus said:

Matthew 13:31-32
He told them another parable: “The kingdom of heaven is like a mustard seed, which a man took and planted in his field. Though it is the smallest of all your seeds, yet when it grows, it is the largest of garden plants and becomes a tree, so that the birds of the air come and perch in its branches.”

He encouraged us to be a beautiful garden. I told him about my mustard seeds, how I encourage people that even the tiniest acts of kindness can be multiplied. The Lord has spoken to me very much about sowing seeds of love and what a tiny seed of faith can do. My ministry name in Spanish is Seed of Love. You can read about my vision in Seed of Love.

3 heartsI promised the priest one of my seeds. Maybe I’ll give him two. That’s something that will not slip my mind.

When I get back on Monday I hope I’ll remember what I did on the weekend. To be sure, I’ll take my camera with me. A Teflon memory is a fragile thing. Had it not been for my sister Agneta, cinnamon rolls would have been spelled cinnamon roles.

I looked at the word and “knew” it was wrong. The spell-checker didn’t help. It recognized “roles.” There is a difference between rolls and roles. What is that difference? It slipped my mind! I guess I do have a Teflon memory after all!

(I’ll have no Internet until I get back.)

 

 

 

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Land of the Vikings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

