Traveling with Emil

Emil is my nephew. But he’s not the one I’ve traveled with. It just so happened that the train ride back from Tidan was on the “Emil i Lönneberga” train. The company that works the trains in the part of Sweden called Småland has chosen to name their trains. You might recall that I traveled on the Dag Hammarsköld train on my way to Tidan.

Emilie is my niece and today his her birthday! She’s far away in Sweden but 13 years ago I had the privilege to see her on this day. Happy birthday Emilie!

Emil is a funny children’s story character, 5 years old, that lives in Lönneberga and does all kinds of mischief. You might compare him to Dennis the Menace, as seen on film in the USA. The author, Astrid Lindgren, is one of Sweden’s awesome story-tellers. She’s the one who wrote the story of the strong Pippi Logstocking, who could even carry a horse.

pippi

My “Pippi” with the horses that carry her, in my bookshelf!

IMG_8226

Toy horse from early 20th Century

Could this horse have inspired the Pippi story?

Before getting on the train I said good-bye to a retired Swedish farmer, my friend Leif (in his work-clothes). His wife drove me to the train station and waved good-bye.

10-06-13 Leif and Miriam.

10-06-13 On the road.Before the train ride came the car ride. Take into consideration that my pictures are taken through a car windshield. Sometimes the windshields are not the cleanest, but I still get some good pictures. Some of the colors along the road on that drive were breathtaking.

10-06-13 Emil train.This was the Emil train. The tunnel I’m standing in ends in the big clock. Remember? In case you didn’t see it, here it is again.

IMG_8117

The time is ticking. Another day has come to an end. The story I published today is a true testimony of a man who visited a village way up in the Andes Mountains years ago. He used to take medicines to help the villagers. Then he heard the Gospel and received Christ into his life. He then brought total transformation to the village.

When he preached and asked who wanted to receive Christ as Lord and Savior, everyone looked to the mayor. When he stood up and made the decision to follow Christ, everyone followed his example. The entire village turned to Jesus! My dad has had the privilege to visit that village.

Ninos Tidan

“Niñitos en Tidan” means “Little children in Tidan.” I had them on a previous blog, but they make such a cute memory from my visit that I want to show them again. Blessings to all! See you tomorrow!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Land of the Vikings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

