Enjoying the Beauty of Fall

I wonder if there is anybody who doesn’t enjoy fall, the autumn season. For those of us who have grown up in South America it has more special beauty because there we don’t have the changing seasons.

Dad has been practicing the use of his tricycle and today he and Mary went to the grocery store. She took his walker and that way they could divide the load. You see, Dad can’t drive anymore due to his health, so they don’t have a car. My sister and my brother-in-law usually take them in their car when they get home from work, but now they can go shopping during the day.

10-10-13 Dad Mary

I had an errand to accomplish yesterday. I borrowed Dad’s walker and took a little stroll to the Swedish Lutheran Church. I had promised the priest one of my mustard seeds. And I delivered it. One thing I hadn’t seen last week when we visited for the birthday party, were some stones welcoming to prayer.

10-10-13 Pray. copyHave a seat! Take some time to meditate on God’s goodness. The stone in the center reads, “Pray for Africa.” The others have the inscription “India” and “China.” There is an extra stone in the back. Add your own prayer focus. Prayer is the key that opens the doors of heaven. Jesus has promised to hear our prayers, but he has a condition, that we obey his commands.

Take your Bible with you. Read John chapter 15. Better yet, read chapters 14 through 16. I began a list this morning on all the wonderful teaching Jesus gives us in those chapters. It started with John 16:33, “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace.” What things? I asked myself. John 14-16 states those things. Meditate on them. And pray!

IMG_8410s10-10-13 Nature.This is some of the beauty of fall I enjoyed on my stroll down the street from Västergatan 4. The sun is shining again today. I will enjoy some more fall beauty.

God bless you! Enjoy whatever beauty is in your surroundings!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Land of the Vikings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

