More Fall Pictures

This has been a very busy day. We had a celebration dinner for the blessing of publishing 200 story papers “La Perlita.” Pictures will come tomorrow.

Last evening a friend from my youth came by for a visit. She was on her way to celebrate a grandchild’s birthday. Can you believe that we hadn’t seen each other for 49 years? It’s amazing! We just picked up from where we left off when I went to Peru as missionary. We had pizza at my sister’s and got to talking.

My friend sells HERBALIFE nutritional products. She had a special scale that measures fat and muscle index. We all got on the scale and discovered that some of us were younger for our age and some of us older, one being much older than her age.

I’m going to speak in riddles, like the apostle Paul. He didn’t want to say his name when he wrote to the church in Corinth, so he said he knew a man who was caught up to the third heaven. Then he left it to the reader to figure out that the man was Paul himself.

Let me tell it this way. I know a woman whose body has suffered trauma and according to the measurements on my friend’s scale she is more than ten years older than her age. But that woman feels young as a 20-year-old in spirit! Now, there is another woman who is age 51, but her body is like a 36-year-old! That woman is not me! Even my Dad at age 93 is younger than his age in body!

We had en enjoyable time and my friend was invited to stay overnight since it was late and dark and she still had a long drive. It was so much fun to catch up on old times. And I remembered old times when my daughter and I were trying to sell HERBALIFE productS. We are not sells-persons! I might be a good translator but not a sales-woman!

IMG_8525

This afternoon I found out about my favorite boy in all the world. He’s had an accident, and he has nobody but himself to blame. My dear David has broken his collar-bone! “He was practicing Basketball and decided to put a bucket on a chair and some pieces of wood on top of the bucket and stand on top of the wood and bucket so he could shoot the ball. He fell off and landed on his arm and face. Not a smart thing to do” (FB by David’s mother).

Broken collar bone

This is my precious David being brave at the hospital. Now he has some painful weeks ahead of him. There is nothing much the doctors can do but give him some medication to alleviate his pain. You can believe “Miss Lundquist” wishes she could be there with him! This dear boy calls his “old” (in body but not spirit!) grandmother “Miss.” That makes me feel very young!

The bench to mediate on has been well used yesterday and today. The weather has been spectacular and Sunday is predicted to be sunny. Monday is another story. I have some more pictures from my stroll down the street. Rufsi wanted to come along.

10-11-13 Tall trees.

These beautiful trees are the ones who are “destined to die,” as you might recall from a previous blog. We might as well enjoy them.

10-11-13 The lake.

 

A block from the house is the lake. I can’t believe that I haven’t discovered it before. I guess I had tunnel vision. All I could think of was to finish the translation job that was due. And then the celebration of the 200th story-paper. If the weather cooperates I’ll make sure to enjoy the lake. Even if it’s just to admire the view!

10-11-13 Pausing.

 

A pause to mediate and to work on the hat I’m making for my dad. On the upper right is the mail delivery truck and below the house where I’m staying.

Sky display.

Some mornings and evenings we enjoy the beautiful display of colors. I’ve gone through my pictures this evening and I think I’m addicted to photos. I keep taking and taking and taking these breathtaking views.  This is what my dad sees from his window, where he works on the computer, does his “ryammattor” (carpets made of knotted yarn). works on cross-word puzzles, reads books, etc.

Time to end the day. See you tomorrow! Have a blessed Sunday!

 

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Land of the Vikings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

