In Memory of Pince Charming

One more year without my Prince! It’s hard to believe it has already been six years since my Prince Charming was called to his heavenly home. If he could see me today he would be more than delighted. His prayers were continually that my La Perlita story-papers would come to life again. It’s amazing how I’ve been able to publish stories and Bible lessons on-line these last four years. This week it was story 202. Guess what? The subject was about Isaac getting a wife. Read Genesis 24. I gave the children the idea to pray for their future spouse. Why not?

Now I am thanking God for giving me a good husband for 38 years. As his widow I’m moving forward with the missionary assignment we had together, first in Peru and then in Bolivia. Then the Lord brought us to the United States.

Since I’m away from home and don’t have access to all my pictures I’ve had to make do with what I have on my computer. Here are some memories.

Memory of Bengt copy

Row 1. Bengt loved Smulan, our toy poodle that we had for 15 years, especially after our oldest daughter went to be with the Lord. Smulan (Little Crumb) was her friend and then she became Bengt’s friend. He loved Eva-Marie and Smulan was a reminder of her. The picture on the right is a cherished memory. He loved his grandchildren. Here he has Lana in his lap. Lana loved to sit with him and get cuddled.

Row 2. A proud father with our second daughter, Ruth Carina. What a joy for him to walk her down the aisle. In the center picture I’m holding our first grandchild, David. Such proud moments to remember!

Row 3. Little David, far right, had a hard time understanding how his grandfather had gone to heaven and at the same time lay in a coffin, sleeping. When Bengt passed away my daughter and her Thom were in Peru for my dad’s wedding. Tomorrow Dad and Mary will celebrate six years together as husband and wife. But they knew each other for over 20 years because she worked with Mom and Dad in children’s ministry in Peru.

“I’ve got you under my skin” was something Bengt loved to sing for me. I don’t know that song and I doubt the he knew it. He had just learned that phrase. I’m proud that this man had me under his skin for 38 years.

Will I some day find another Prince Charming? For now, I’m happy to be his widow and fulfill the work he prayed for so ardently. My prayer is that my precious grandson David will be a man of God like his grandfather. David has a valuable heritage!

I wish this world had more men like the one God gave me for a husband. On time I told him I was happy that he had never laid a hand on me. He was totally surprised, because such a thing had never crossed his mind. As I wrote in a previous blog, on this date 2 years ago, Bengt was a Peacemaker.

This was Bengt’s motto: Romans 12:18

If it is possible, as far as it depends
on you,
live at peace with everyone.

 

 

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

