Sixth Anniversary

Today is Dad and Mary’s anniversary. It’s a rainy and dreary day. But we had an exquisite Sunday dinner. Mary made Papa rellena (mashed potato balls filled with a ground beef mixture) and blueberry pie.

I know someone who’s going to wish she could have had dinner with us. I don’t blame her (my daughter) because it’s a very delicious dish.

Papa rellena 01

This was a little different from the wedding dinner. They served grilled pork with potatoes and a typical hot sauce. According to the portions of the food served there were 1,000 guests, but maybe some people ate double or some might have taken some home. The thing is that there were lots of people present. They had the wedding in a big, open space.

Per y Mary 2007

In the center picture to the left the bride and groom are given two white doves to let go as a symbol of their new life together. At the center right two girls hold the doves, which they had captured. The purpose was for the doves to fly away but the girls took them.

At the bottom right are 10 wedding cakes but there were also 600 portions already packaged. My dad had worked in Huancayo, Peru since 1964 and Mary came in 1984 so they were well known, thus the reason for so many people attending the wedding.

Per y Mary 20072 While looking at pictures to put together the collage, Mary wanted me to use all the pictures we could find of Dad, so I’m giving them this as a card to wish they have many more happy years.

I was going to write quite a story, but there is so much Mary and Dad want to learn about computer files, Facebook, handling photos, etc. so that’s how we have spent our time. Quality time with them is the most important thing, so this will do for today. We’ve also talked about a book on miracles I’m hoping they will write. We have gone through one miracle after another!

Tomorrow will be my last day here in Vaggeryd, for this time. If possible, I want to visit Dad and Mary every year. Why not? If a Prince Charming comes along, things might change. For now, I want to support Mary’s Prince Charming.

I feel very privileged. How many people get to have their father live past ninety years of age? I want to do what I can to keep the one big commandment with a promise, to honor my “father and my mother.”

Ephesians 6:2,3
Honor your father and mother–which is the first commandment with a promise–that it may go well with you and that you may enjoy long life on the earth.

If you still have your parents, may you honor them, and believe the promise of the Fifth Commandment.

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

