Unpleasant and Pleasant Surprises

What did I find on my desk when I arrived home? A check that should have been mailed before I left on my trip, due for my internet and cable service. That was not the worst! Come to find out, the provider of that service has increased the price by 50 percent. Before I left on my trip an agent from another company came around offering services, so I’m going to change to another provider. It’s a hassle, but with patience it will be solved.

Something totally different that people consider unpleasant is to have a black cat walk by. In Sweden, superstitious people have to spit three times when this happens. Cristina had just talked to me about black cats and suggested we should do a story because many people despise black cats. Guess what? The last day I spent in Sweden I encountered not one, but two black cats! The people I spent the night with, that would take me to my early flight, had these cats. This was so perfect that I got started on my story right away.

IMG_8980

Dad’s wife, Mary, was excited about the green eyes, that were exactly the color of her sweater. On the picture is Rasmus with my hostess, Inger; below is the cat Crespo. He’s the one that’s going to be the hero of the story.

Crespo

Crespo was despised because he was black. His siblings were not kind to him and nobody wanted him. He was not only black but he was ugly. My hostess and her daughter went to some neighbors to pick out a cat and both thought he was so ugly that they didn’t want him. But then they felt bad about it and accepted the little ugly black cat. Now the cat has turned beautiful and is very much loved!

I’m planning on making Crespo a hero by saving a little boy’s life. From despised to a hero—that doesn’t sound so bad, does it? My imagination can run wild sometimes so who knows what the story will end up to be.

Here’s a happy surprise! I can’t send packages to Cristina to Peru, at least not to where she lives. But I took stuff with me to Sweden and then sent it to Peru with my sister. There Cristina picked it up at a friend’s house. She was very pleasantly surprised and said I had sent all the things she loves. She took pictures. Here are the surprises!

1374923_736190326396079_1099687313_n 1380404_736190709729374_1151389107_n

There is something in the picture above that my daughter loves. If I’d go to Sweden and didn’t bring one of those back to her she would be very disappointed. It’s the Marabou chocolate. If you ever go to Sweden, or happen to come by an IKEA store, be sure to get one. It’s delicious!

Tomorrow, if I don’t get disconnected from the internet, there will be a big surprise on this blog.

If you think black cats bring bad luck, that’s not true. Just ask my new friend, Inger, who has Rasmus and Crespo. They have brought lots of happiness with them. And soon there will be a happy story about Crespo, the hero.

I’ll end my story about my visit in Sweden with a picture of my hero. He doesn’t like it when I call him that. But what shall I say? He’s taught me the Way of Life. He’s showed me what it means to live by faith. At every big turn in our lives as a family he supported us with timely advice. Thanks, Dad! I hope to see you again next year.

IMG_8568

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Land of the Vikings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

