Thanksgiving Month

I’m looking out a window to the sky and some trees that still have some autumn leaves. The sky is bright, promising to be what we call a “good” day. Why do we think it’s a “bad” day when it’s raining? Probably because it’s inconvenient. But if it wasn’t for the rain there would be no grain to harvest. So, praise the Lord for “good” and “bad” days.

attic window

Yesterday was fun. I visited my grandchildren at their school and the parties they had in their classrooms. I had to go to the office and get a visitor’s pass. There God had placed and “angel” to drive me (push the chair!) to David’s classroom. His is the farthest from the office. I’m referring to a mother that was there to visit her child in the same classroom. I held the cookies she had brought with her and she pushed the chair. I have a very simple chair, that doesn’t have the big wheels that you can use to move yourself forward, but it’s small enough that I can handle it. Sometimes I use the chair as a walker. My prayer and goal is to walk without the chair and I believe those prayers will be answered.

If you have hopes and dreams, don’t give up. Keep believing in God’s power and help. His timing is different then ours. One thing is for sure. His timing is always the right one!

My little one, Sarah had made such a cute little pumpkin mask, that she gets the honor place in the picture collage. She was so cute when she saw me coming into the classroom. She pointed to me and told her teacher, “My grandma! She knows Spanish!” What made her highlight that?

Here is something else, very cute, that happened in the Kindergarten area. One little boy showed me his new shoes, they were tie shoes. I complimented him, and then he told me, “I can tie them, too!” Do you remember that accomplishment? When you had learned to tie your shoes? Do you remember when getting a new pair of shoes was like winning a million dollars? I could see in the eyes of that little boy how much those shoes meant to him.

When I grew up in South America it was a struggle to find shoes for me. My feet were bigger than what was common there. I would look at the displays in the shoe stores with longing to have a pair of the cute shoes they displayed. But, no! Usually they would have one or to pairs to choose from (number 39). Of course I could buy boy shoes! That’s not what a girl wants! Now I’m back in a similar situation. I wear big, heave MBT shoes. Nothing fancy, but they “rock.”

This month should be good. I’m starting it out together with the people that are dearest to my heart. I’ve learned a long time ago the importance of thanks-giving. I hope to send up many thanksgiving offerings to the Lord, not only this month but as long as I live, and that includes eternity!

my five 10_2013

Upper left: Sarah and my daughter Carina. Center: David, Brianna and Lana.

From Lanas class

Three of Lana’s classmates.

May you have a good month. Let it be a real thanks-giving month!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Gratitude, My grandchildren and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

