David’s Tree of Refuge

Ft Gibbs house

Yesterday was a beautiful afternoon, and after tackling a translation job all day I spent some time outside.

Now I’m organizing my pictures, writing this blog and playing with two of my grandchildren, all at the same time. I love it! I’m coloring, I’m answering questions, I’m typing. I’m enjoying to spend time with the people I love the most.

“If you let me win, I’ll let you win next time. Is that a promise?” Sarah and I are playing X’s and O’s in the middle of everything. I love the way children’s mind works.

When she came to visit me in my attic room this morning (upper right is my other window), she asked if I trust in God. Then she told me that if I trusted Him and went to heaven I would be a Christian.  She was just slightly off in her theology. I told her I am a Christina! Then she talked about meeting her Aunt Eva in heaven and about when I got to meet God. “Then you will see her again,” she said. Isn’t it amazing that we have that hope.

David, Sarah’s big brother, has a tree he has worked on for years to tear down. But the tree is resilient. It doesn’t give way. Yesterday he worked on it again. Three weeks ago he had an adventure and broke his collar-bone. I told him to be careful. “This one is on me,” he said. But his dad did not agree, because he is the one that has to pay the bills if David has another accident.

Ft Gibbs David

I met the kids when they came home from school and then we enjoyed the weather. As I said before in a blog, Why don’t we enjoy it when it rains? If it’s a warm day the rain can feel refreshing.

Ft Gibbs kids

Here Brianna and Lana are sporting funny teeth. David is playing with my cane. He loves that, especially to pretend he is an old man.

When David was a little boy the tree used to be his refuge. He doesn’t handle changes in his schedule or parties with lots of kids around. The tree was his refuge! He used to work away on the tree.

I hope David will discover more than a tree as a refuge. And he has! He knows where to go when anxiety sets in. God is his refuge. He knows to pray!

What is your refuge?

Psalm 46
God is our refuge and strength,

an ever-present help in trouble.
2 Therefore we will not fear, though the earth give way
and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea,
3 though its waters roar and foam
and the mountains quake with their surging.
Selah
4 There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God,
the holy place where the Most High dwells.
5 God is within her, she will not fall;
God will help her at break of day.
6 Nations are in uproar, kingdoms fall;
he lifts his voice, the earth melts.
7 The LORD Almighty is with us;
the God of Jacob is our fortress.
Selah  
8 Come and see the works of the LORD,
the desolations he has brought on the earth.
9 He makes wars cease to the ends of the earth;
he breaks the bow and shatters the spear,
he burns the shields with fire.
10 “Be still, and know that I am God;
I will be exalted among the nations,
I will be exalted in the earth.”
11 The LORD Almighty is with us;
the God of Jacob is our fortress.

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My grandchildren, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

